Distance and classical forms of learning: what is the proportion of the optimal combination?

Tyumen State University Herald. Social, Economic, and Law Research


Release:

2021, Vol. 7. № 2 (26)

Title: 
Distance and classical forms of learning: what is the proportion of the optimal combination?


For citation: Vishnevsky Yu. R., Tarasova A. N. 2021. “Distance and classical forms of learning: what is the proportion of the optimal combination?”. Tyumen State University Herald. Social, Economic, and Law Research, vol. 7, no. 2 (26), pp. 8-22. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7897-2021-7-2-8-22

About the authors:

Yury R. Vishnevsky, Dr. Sci. (Philol.), Honorary Professor, Sociology and Public Administration Department, Ural Federal University named after the First President of Russia B. N. Yeltsin (Ekaterinburg); soc_stu@e1.ru

Anna N. Tarasova, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Associate Professor, Department of Sociology and Technology of State and Municipal Management, Ural Federal University (Yekaterinburg); ORCID: 0000-0002-9448-2893, Scopus Author ID: 57201826388, WoS ResearcherID: B-1811-2017, SPIN: 1228-4836, a.n.tarasova@mail.ru

Abstract:

The pandemic has sharply actualized the digitalization of higher education, when all students were transferred to distance education. This period turned out to be very specific for students. On the one hand, these are new forms of education, new opportunities. On the other hand, limited experience of interpersonal communication with classmates and interaction with teachers. The purpose of this article is to assess the attitude of students to distance education and to highlight the conditions that determine the effectiveness of such education. The empirical basis of the work was the data of the monitoring 8th students monitoring in the Middle Urals, carried out under the leadership of Yuri Vishnevsky for 25 years. The sample consisted of 2,000 students from 13 universities in the Sverdlovsk region. The results show that the opinion of Ural students regarding distance education is not uniform; there are both its supporters (12%) and opponents (9%). Most students are ready to combine distance and classical forms of education in one proportion or another. They consider about 50% of distance education to be acceptable. The educational profile, attitude to the profession and the level of responsibility are the main factors that determine the attitude towards distance education. These factors determine the effectiveness of both distance and traditional education. However, in the case of distance education, higher requirements are imposed on the level of responsibility and awareness of the student. Otherwise, distance education is accompanied by various deviations. In the current reality, when a third of the Ural students do not represent the content of their chosen profession, more than half do not have any professional goal, it is important for the university, and, first of all, for teachers, not only to provide new educational opportunities, but also to help students’ professional socializing so that they can be successful in the future. To do this, it is important to maintain a healthy balance of distance and classical education, which ensures the greatest efficiency.

References:

  1. Abramov R. N., Gruzdev I. A., Terentyev E. A., Zakharova U. S., Grigorieva A. V. 2020. “University teachers and digitalization of education: on the eve of distance force majeure”. University Management: Practice and Analysis, vol. 24, no. 2, pp. 59-74. DOI: 10.15826/umpa.2020.02.014 [In Russian]

  2. Balatsky E. V. 2015. “New trends in the development of the university sector”. World of Russia. Sociology. Ethnology, vol. 24, no. 4, pp. 72-98. [In Russian]

  3. Brodovskaya E. V., Dombrovskaya A. Yu., Pyrma R. V., Sinyakov A. V., Azarov A. A. 2019. “Influence of digital communications on the formation of professional culture of Russian youth: the results of a comprehensive applied research”. Monitoring public opinion: Economic and social changes, no. 1, pp. 228-251. DOI: 10.14515/monitoring.2019.1.11 [In Russian]

  4. Vasilyeva L. L. 2019. “Digitalization of education. Trend or necessity”. Questions of pedagogy, no. 12 (1), pp. 41-44. [In Russian]

  5. Volchik V. V. 2020. “Distance higher education in conditions of self-isolation and the problem of institutional traps”. Actual problems of economics and law, vol. 14, no. 2, pp. 235-248. DOI: 10.21202/1993-047X.14.2020.2.235-248 [In Russian]

  6. Classical and online education: what do students choose? 2018. Accessed on 15 March 2021. https://guu.ru/news_ru/54841/ [In Russian]

  7. Kositskaya F. L. 2020. “Main trends in modern Russian higher education (based on the materials of the winter school of teachers 2020)”. Scientific and pedagogical review, no. 3 (31), pp. 101-109. DOI: 10.23951/2307-6127-2020-3-101-109 [In Russian]

  8. Ladyzhets N. S., Neborskiy E. V. 2015. “University barometer: global trends in the development of universities and educational environment”. Internet journal Science Science, vol. 7, no. 2 (27), pp. 143. DOI: 10.15862/68PVN215. [In Russian]

  9. Lazareva O. P., Moroz N. A. 2021. “Distance learning in a pandemic: the opinion of teachers and university students”. Siberian Socium, vol. 5, no. 1 (15), pp. 50-67. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2021-5-1-50-67 [In Russian]

  10. Levina E. Yu. 2019. “Digitalization - a condition or an era of development of the higher education system?”. Kazan pedagogical journal, no. 5 (136), pp. 8-14. [In Russian]

  11. Education 2020-2030: the future came yesterday. Blog of the “Uchi.ru” company. Accessed on 12 March 2021. https://habr.com/ru/company/uchi_ru/blog/512690/ [In Russian]

  12. Website of the National Research University Higher School of Economics. Survey of students of Russian universities on the conditions of distance learning. Accessed on 15 March 2021. https://cim.hse.ru/covidsurvey [In Russian]

  13. Passport of the national project “Education”. Accessed on 10 March 2021. http://static.government.ru/media/files/UuG1ErcOWtjfOFCsqdLsLxC8oPFDkmBB.pdf [In Russian]

  14. Vishnevsky Yu. R. (ed.). 2017. Student 1995-2016: dynamics of socio-cultural development of students in the Middle Urals: monograph. Ekaterinburg: UrFU. 904 pp. [In Russian]

  15. Terelyansky P. V., Kuznetsov N. V., Ekimova K. V., Lukyanov S. A. 2018. “Transformation of education in the digital era”. University management: practice and analysis, no. 22 (6), pp. 36-43. DOI: 10.15826/umpa.2018.06.056. [In Russian]

  16. Tulchinsky G. L. 2017. “Digital transformation of education: challenges to higher education”. Philosophical sciences, no. 6, pp. 121-136. [In Russian]

  17. Decree of the President of the Russian Federation of 07.05.2018 No. 204 “On national goals and strategic objectives of the development of the Russian Federation for the period up to 2024”. Accessed on 10 March 2021. http://www.kremlin.ru/acts/bank/43027 [In Russian]

  18. Decree of the President of the Russian Federation of 21.07.2020 No. 474 “On the national development goals of the Russian Federation for the period up to 2030”. Accessed on 10 March 2021. http://www.kremlin.ru/events/president/news/63728 [In Russian]

  19. Shalygina I. V. 2015. “Informatization of higher education and transformation of the teacher's role”. Council of rectors, no. 6, pp. 50-56. [In Russian]

  20. Prensky M. 2012. From digital natives to digital wisdom: hopeful essays for the 21st century learning. CA: Corwin Press. 240 pp.

Дистанционная и классическая формы обучения: какова пропорция оптимального сочетания?

Вестник ТюмГУ. Социально-экономические и правовые исследования


Выпуск:

2021. Том 7. № 2 (26)

Название: 
Дистанционная и классическая формы обучения: какова пропорция оптимального сочетания?


Для цитирования: Вишневский Ю. Р. Дистанционная и классическая формы обучения: какова пропорция оптимального сочетания? / Ю. Р. Вишневский, А. Н. Тарасова // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Социально-экономические и правовые исследования. 2021. Том 7. № 2 (26). С. 8-22. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7897-2021-7-2-8-22

Об авторах:

Вишневский Юрий Рудольфович, доктор философских наук, почетный профессор кафедры социологии и технологий государственного и муниципального управления, Уральский федеральный университет имени первого Президента России Б. Н. Ельцина (г. Екатеринбург); soc_stu@e1.ru

Тарасова Анна Николаевна, кандидат социологических наук, доцент кафедры социологии и технологий государственного и муниципального управления, Уральский федеральный университет имени первого Президента России Б. Н. Ельцина (г. Екатеринбург); ORCID: 0000-0002-9448-2893, Scopus Author ID: 57201826388, WoS ResearcherID: B-1811-2017, SPIN: 1228-4836, a.n.tarasova@mail.ru

Аннотация:

Пандемия резко актуализировала цифровизацию высшего образования, когда все студенты были переведены на дистантное обучение. Данный период оказался весьма специфичен для студенческой молодежи. С одной стороны, это новые формы обучения, новые возможности, с другой — ограниченный опыт межличностного общения с одногруппниками и взаимодействия с преподавателями. Цель данной статьи оценить отношение студентов к дистантному обучению и выделить условия, определяющие эффективность такого обучения. Эмпирической базой работы послужили данные VIII этапа мониторинга студенчества Среднего Урала, реализуемого под руководством Ю. Р. Вишневского уже на протяжении 25 лет. Выборка составила 2000 студентов из 13 вузов Свердловской области. Результаты показывают, что мнение уральских студентов относительно дистанционного обучения неоднородно, есть как его сторонники (12%), так и противники (9%). Большинство студентов готовы к совмещению дистанционной и классической формы обучения в той или иной пропорции. В среднем в своей учебе они считают допустимым около 50% дистантного обучения. Профиль подготовки, отношение к профессии и уровень ответственности — основные факторы, определяющие отношение к дистанционному обучению. Именно эти факторы определяют эффективность как дистантного, так и традиционного обучения. Но при дистанционной форме обучения к уровню ответственности и осознанности студента предъявляются более высокие требования, в противном случае дистанционное обучение сопровождается различными девиациями. В существующей реалии, когда при поступлении в вуз треть уральских студентов не представляют содержание выбранной профессии, более половины не имеет какой-либо профессиональной цели, университету и в первую очередь преподавателям важно не просто предоставлять новые образовательные возможности, но всячески помогать профессиональной социализации студентов, чтобы те могли быть успешны в будущем. Для этого важно соблюдать здоровый баланс дистанционного и классического обучения, обеспечивающий наибольшую эффективность.

Список литературы:

  1. Абрамов Р. Н. Университетские преподаватели и цифровизация образования: накануне дистанционного форс-мажора / Р. Н. Абрамов, И. А. Груздев, Е. А. Терентьев, У. С. Захарова, А. В. Григорьева // Университетское управление: практика и анализ. 2020. Т. 24. № 2. С. 59-74. DOI: 10.15826/umpa.2020.02.014

  2. Балацкий Е. В. Новые тренды в развитии университетского сектора / Е. В. Балацкий // Мир России. Социология. Этнология. 2015. Т. 24. № 4. С. 72-98.

  3. Бродовская Е. В. Влияние цифровых коммуникаций на формирование профессиональной культуры российской молодежи: результаты комплексного прикладного исследования / Е. В. Бродовская, А. Ю. Домбровская, Р. В. Пырма, А. В. Синяков, А. А. Азаров // Мониторинг общественного мнения: Экономические и социальные перемены. 2019. № 1. С. 228-251. DOI: 10.14515/monitoring.2019.1.11

  4. Васильева Л. Л. Цифровизация образования. Тренд или необходимость / Л. Л. Васильева // Вопросы педагогики. 2019. № 12 (1). С. 41-44.

  5. Вольчик В. В. Дистанционное высшее образование в условиях самоизоляции и проблема институциональных ловушек / В. В. Вольчик, И. М. Ширяев // Актуальные проблемы экономики и права. 2020. Том 14. № 2. С. 235-248. DOI: 10.21202/1993-047X.14.2020.2.235-248

  6. Классическое и онлайн-образование: что выбирают студенты? 2018. URL: https://guu.ru/news_ru/54841/ (дата обращения 15.03.2021).

  7. Косицкая Ф. Л. Основные тренды в современном российском высшем образовании (по материалам зимней школы преподавателей 2020) / Ф. Л. Косицкая // Научно-педагогическое обозрение. 2020. № 3 (31). С. 101-109. DOI: 10.23951/2307-6127-2020-3-101-109

  8. Ладыжец Н. С. Университетский барометр: мировые тенденции развития университетов и образовательной среды / Н. С. Ладыжец, Е. В. Неборский // Интернет-журнал Науковедение. 2015. Т. 7. № 2 (27). С. 143. DOI: 10.15862/68PVN215

  9. Лазарева О. П. Дистанционное обучение в условиях пандемии: мнение преподавателей и студентов вуза / О. П. Лазарева, Н. А. Мороз // Siberian Socium. 2021. Том 5. № 1 (15). С. 50-67. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2021-5-1-50-67

  10. Левина Е. Ю. Цифровизация — условие или эпоха развития системы высшего образования? / Е. Ю. Левина // Казанский педагогический журнал. 2019. № 5 (136). С. 8-14.

  11. Образование 2020-2030: будущее наступило вчера. Блог компании Учи.ру. URL: https://habr.com/ru/company/uchi_ru/blog/512690/ (дата обращения 12.03.2021).

  12. Опрос студентов российских вузов об условиях дистанционного обучения. Сайт национального исследовательского университета «Высшая школа экономики». URL: https://cim.hse.ru/covidsurvey (дата обращения 15.03.2021).

  13. Паспорт национального проекта «Образование». URL: http://static.government.ru/media/files/UuG1ErcOWtjfOFCsqdLsLxC8oPFDkmBB.pdf (дата обращения 10.03.2021).

  14. Студент 1995-2016 гг.: динамика социокультурного развития студенчества Среднего Урала: монография / под ред. Ю. Р. Вишневского. Екатеринбург: УрФУ, 2017. 904 с.

  15. Терелянский П. В. Трансформация образования в цифровую эпоху / П. В. Терелянский, Н. В.Кузнецов, К. В. Екимова, С. А. Лукьянов // Университетское управление: практика и анализ. 2018. № 22 (6). С. 36-43. DOI: 10.15826/umpa.2018.06.056

  16. Тульчинский Г. Л. Цифровая трансформация образования: вызовы высшей школе / Г. Л. Тульчинский // Философские науки. 2017. № 6. С. 121-136.

  17. Указ Президента Российской Федерации от 07.05.2018 г. № 204 «О национальных целях и стратегических задачах развития Российской Федерации на период до 2024 года». URL: http://www.kremlin.ru/acts/bank/43027 (дата обращения 10.03.2021).

  18. Указ Президента Российской Федерации от 21.07.2020 г. № 474 «О национальных целях развития Российской Федерации на период до 2030 года». URL: http://www.kremlin.ru/events/president/news/63728 (дата обращения 10.03.2021).

  19. Шалыгина И. В. Информатизация высшей школы и трансформация роли преподавателя / И. В. Шалыгина // Совет ректоров. 2015. № 6. С. 50-56.

  20. Prensky M. From digital natives to digital wisdom: hopeful essays for 21st century learning / M. Prensky. CA: Corwin Press, 2012. 240 рp.