The Literary Landscape of Western Siberia in N. A. Lukhmanova’s “Essays from the Life in Siberia”

Tyumen State University Herald. Humanities Research. Humanitates


Release:

2020, Vol. 6. № 2 (22)

Title: 
The Literary Landscape of Western Siberia in N. A. Lukhmanova’s “Essays from the Life in Siberia”


For citation: Pershina A. I., Ertner E. N. 2020. “The Literary Landscape of Western Siberia in N. A. Lukhmanova’s ‘Essays from the Life in Siberia’”. Tyumen State University Herald. Humanities Research. Humanitates, vol. 6, no. 2 (22), pp. 48-63. DOI: 10.21684/2411-197X-2020-6-2-48-63

About the authors:

Alyona I. Pershina, Master Student, The Russian and Foreign Literature Department, University of Tyumen;  pershina.alena@rambler.ru

Elena N. Ertner, Dr. Sci. (Philol.), Professor, The Russian and Foreign Literature Department, University of Tyumen; e.n.ertner@utmn.ru; ORCID: 0000-0003-1523-6561

Abstract:

The subject of this article is the literary landscape of Western Siberia, which was represented in “Essays from life in Siberia” (1895) by Nadezhda Aleksandrovna Lukhmanova.

The relevance of this research is determined by the increased importance of studying “local” texts of Russian culture, including the need for a more detailed study of the phenomenon of Siberia.

The mythopoetics of landscape in N. Lukhmanova’s “Essays” is considered in the context of prose of the turn of the 19th-20th centuries (G. Uspensky, K. Nosilov). The literary context of the study of “Siberian” texts for the first time includes the stories by S. I. Kartsevsky. The geographical imagery of Western Siberia is reconstructed in the texts under consideration from the point of view of philological analysis, which allows determining the features of representation of the Place in the creative thinking of a particular writer and identifying the individual author’s view of the depicted locus.

“Essays from life in Siberia” by N. Lukhmanova reflect different points of view on the landscape of the Siberian city. Geographical remoteness, climatic conditions, and the closed way of life of old believers form the image of a fortress city, “the country behind the Stone”. The reflected provincial way of life of the city is destroyed on the pages of “Essays” with the arrival of merchant children who were educated in the capital, the growth of industry, the laying of the railway.

Siberia in the minds of newcomers appears “a remote, lost place”, while in the perception of Siberians it is the “native land”, “Paradise”. N. Lukhmanova’s “Essays” reflect the “double mythologem” of Western Siberia: it is “alien”, closed space and at the same time “one’s own”, “reserved”, and “secret”.

References:

  1. Vays K. 2012. Russian Geographical Society and the Creation of the Image of Siberia of the 19th Century. Siberia: a look from the outside and from the inside. The spiritual dimension of space, pp. 59-74. [In Russian]

  2. Zamyatin D. N. 2006. “Russian estate: landscape and image”. Bulletin of Eurasia, no. 1, pp. 70-91. [In Russian]

  3. Kartsevskiy S. I. 2018. From the past, from the distant. Moscow: Ridero, 212 pp. [In Russian]

  4. Lukhmanova N. A. 1997. Essays from the life in Siberia. Essays from the life in Siberia: Selected works. Tyumen: SoftDesign, 464 pp. [In Russian]

  5. Nosilov K. D. 1997. At the Voguls: Essays and Drafts. Tyumen: SoftDesign, 304 pp. [In Russian]

  6. Pokrovskiy N. N., Zolnikova N. D. 2011. “The development of Siberia and the Old Believers”. All-Russian Economic Journal, no. 2, pp. 168-181. [In Russian]

  7. Tyupa V. I. 2002. “Mythology of Siberia: on the issue of the ‘Siberian text’ of Russian literature”. Siberian Philological Journal, no. 1, pp. 27-35. [In Russian]

  8. Uspenskiy G. I. 2016. Transitional Essays. Moscow: Direct-Media, 1127 pp. [In Russian]

  9. Shakherov V. P. 2004. Between West and East: the interaction of cultures as a factor in the formation of the economic and sociocultural space of Siberia. Siberia: a look from the outside and from the inside. The spiritual dimension of space. Irkutsk, pp. 50-57. [In Russian]

  10. Ertner E. N. 2005. Phenomenology of the province in Russian prose of the late XIX — early XX century. Tyumen, 211 pp. [In Russian]

Литературный ландшафт Западной Сибири в «Очерках из жизни в Сибири» Н. А. Лухмановой

Вестник ТюмГУ. Гуманитарные исследования. Humanitates


Выпуск:

2020. Том 6. № 2 (22)

Название: 
Литературный ландшафт Западной Сибири в «Очерках из жизни в Сибири» Н. А. Лухмановой


Для цитирования: Першина А. И. Литературный ландшафт Западной Сибири в «Очерках из жизни в Сибири» Н. А. Лухмановой / А. И. Першина, Е. Н. Эртнер / Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Гуманитарные исследования. Humanitates. 2020. Том 6. № 2 (22). С. 48-63. DOI: 10.21684/2411-197X-2020-6-2-48-63

Об авторах:

Першина Алёна Игоревна, магистрант кафедры русской и зарубежной литературы, Тюменский государственный университет; pershina.alena@rambler.ru

Эртнер Елена Николаевна, доктор филологических наук, профессор кафедры русской и зарубежной литературы, Тюменский государственный университет; e.n.ertner@utmn.ru; ORCID: 0000-0003-1523-6561

Аннотация:

Предметом рассмотрения настоящей статьи является литературный ландшафт Западной Сибири, получивший репрезентацию в «Очерках из жизни в Сибири» (1895) Надежды Александровны Лухмановой.

Актуальность данного исследования определяется возросшим значением изучения «локальных» текстов русской культуры, в том числе необходимостью более детального изучения феномена Сибири.

Новизна исследования мотивируется тем, что оно осуществляется в русле современной, активно развивающийся методологии, связанной с изучением геопоэтики художественного текста, междисциплинарного методологического подхода, позволяющего рассмотреть особенности ландшафтного мышления писателя, выявить место очерков Н. А. Лухмановой в структуре «сибирского текста» русской культуры.

Мифопоэтика ландшафта в «Очерках» Н. А. Лухмановой рассматривается в контексте прозы рубежа XIX-XX вв. (Г. Успенский, К. Носилов). Литературным контекстом изучения «сибирских» текстов впервые становятся повести С. И. Карцевского. Географическая образность Западной Сибири реконструируется в рассматриваемых текстах с точки зрения филологического анализа, благодаря чему становится возможным определить особенности репрезентации Места в творческом мышлении конкретного писателя, выявить индивидуально-авторский взгляд на изображенный локус.

«Очерки из жизни в Сибири» Н. А. Лухмановой отражают различные точки зрения на ландшафт сибирского города. Географическая отдаленность, климатические условия, закрытый образ жизни старообрядцев формируют образ города-крепости, «страны за Камнем». Отраженный провинциальный уклад города разрушается на страницах «Очерков» с приездом купеческих детей, получивших образование в столице, ростом промышленности, прокладыванием железной дороги.

Сибирь в сознании приезжих предстает «глухим, гиблым местом», в то время как в восприятии сибиряков это «родная земля», «райский уголок». «Очерки» Н. А. Лухмановой отражают «двойную мифологему» Западной Сибири: это «чужое», закрытое пространство и одновременно «свое», «заповедное» и «тайное».

Список литературы:

  1. Вайс К. Русское географическое общество и создание образа Сибири XIX века / К. Вайс // Сибирь: взгляд извне и изнутри. Духовное измерение пространства. Иркутск, 2004. С. 59-74.

  2. Замятин Д. Н. Русская усадьба: ландшафт и образ / Д. Н. Замятин // Вестник Евразии. 2006. № 1. С. 70-91.

  3. Карцевский С. И. Из прошлого, из далекого / С. И. Карцевский. М.: Ridero, 2018. 212 с.

  4. Лухманова Н. А. Очерки из жизни в Сибири / Н. А. Лухманова. Очерки из жизни в Сибири: избранные произведения / сост. Ю. Л. Мандрики; пред. К. Я. Лагунова; прим. Н. Ф. Швейбельман. Тюмень: СофтДизайн, 1997. 464 с.

  5. Носилов К. Д. У вогулов: очерки и наброски / К. Д. Носилов; сост. Ю. Л. Мандрики. Тюмень: СофтДизайн, 1997. 304 с.

  6. Покровский Н. Н. Освоение Сибири и старообрядчество / Н. Н. Покровский, Н. Д. Зольникова // Всероссийский экономический журнал. 2011. № 2. С. 168-181.

  7. Тюпа В. И. Мифологема Сибири: к вопросу о «сибирском тексте» русской литературы / В. И. Тюпа // Сибирский филологический журнал. 2002. № 1. С. 27-35.

  8. Успенский Г. И. Очерки переходного времени / Г. И. Успенский. М.: Директ-Медиа, 2016. 1127 с.

  9. Шахеров В. П. Между Западом и Востоком: взаимодействие культур как фактор формирования экономического и социокультурного пространства Сибири / В. П. Шахеров // Сибирь: взгляд извне и изнутри. Духовное измерение пространства. Иркутск, 2004. С. 50-57.

  10. Эртнер Е. Н. Феноменология провинции в русской прозе конца XIX — начала XX века / Е. Н. Эртнер. Тюмень, 2005. 211 с.