The Problems of Missionary Work in the North Caucasus in the Context of Educational Policy of Russia (XIX Century)

UT Research Journal. Humanities Research. Humanities


Release:

2016, Vol. 2. №3

Title: 
The Problems of Missionary Work in the North Caucasus in the Context of Educational Policy of Russia (XIX Century)


About the author:

Nadezhda O. Bleikh, Dr. Sci. (Hist.), Professor, Department of Social Work, Faculty of Sociology and Social Work, North Ossetian State University named after Kosta Levanovich Khetagurov (Vladikavkaz); nadezhda-blejjkh@mail.ru

Abstract:

The article deals with the problems of missionary work in the North Caucasus in the sphere of educational policy of Russia in the XIX century on the basis of archival and documentary materials. The current work involves historical-comparative, structural, and abstract-logical methods of research. Each of them obtains its own scope and has played an important role in the processing, systematization, and generalization of the research material.

The author proves that the educational policy was focused on the involvement of highlanders in the capitalist relations and bringing them to the Russian culture through missionary organizations, such as “The Society for the Recovery of Christianity in the Caucasus” and individual leaders from the highlanders themselves (Gios Baratashvili, Daniel Chokadze, and others). The preachers did not only preach the word of God to the highlanders, but also made a contribution to the education of the non-Russian peoples, which was an important factor in their cultural development. In the meantime, they contributed to the development of writing for the highlanders ethnic groups and provided them with schools, even with the ones of the parochial order.

The result of the study is the understanding of the fact that the school policy of the Russian Empire on its borderlands was controversial; it was carried out without the consideration for the peculiarities of the national mentality; it ignored the role of the parent languages, customs, and the traditions of the highlanders in the learning process. However, despite all this, there has been progress in the formation of the highlanders. They stood in the way of his spiritual revival, and Evangelical organizations have played a major role in consolidating the Russian-Caucasian relations and strengthened the worldview of the Empire in the struggle with Islam through education.

The article concludes that the missionary organizations had not had the special significance for the people of other faiths in terms of Christianization; however, they had objectively created the situation of secular educational institutions occurrence in accordance with the regulations of the Russian requirements and legislative codes of the school, which eventually led to the emergence of educated highlanders in the North Caucasus.

References:

  1. Bleykh N. O. 2009. Spetsifika stanovleniya prosvetitelskoy mysli u severokavkazskikh narodov v pervoy polovine XIX veka. Monografiya [The Specifics of the Formation of the Educational Thought of the North Caucasian Peoples in the First Half of the 19th Century]. Vladikavkaz.
  2. Gatagova L. S. 1993. Pravitelstvennaya politika i narodnoe obrazovanie na Kavkaze v XIX veke [Government Policy and Popular Education in the Caucasus in the XIX Century]. Moscow.
  3. Materialy po istorii osetinskogo naroda. Sbornik dokumentov [Materials on the History of the Ossetian People. A Collection of Documents]. 1938. Vol. 2. Ordzhonikidze.
  4. Togoshvili G. D. 1971. Vzaimootnosheniya osetinskogo i gruzinskogo narodov v XV-XX vv. [The Relations of Ossetian and Georgian Peoples in the XV-XX Centuries]. Tbilisi.
  5. Totoev M. S. 1962. Narodnoe obrazovanie i pedagogicheskaya mysl v dorevolyutsionnoy Severnoy Osetii [Common Education and the Pedagogical Thought in Pre-Revolutionary North Ossetia]. Ordzhonikidze.
  6. The Central State Archive of the Russian Federation. F. 1268. (Dokumenty po shkolnomu obrazovaniyu nerusskikh narodov [Documents on School Education of the Non-Russian Peoples]). Op. 19. D. 177. L. 31-33.
  7. The Central State Archive of the Russian Federation. F. 173 (Kantselyariya popechitelya Kavkazskogo uchebnogo okruga [The Trustee Office of the Caucasian School District]). Op. 73. D. 385. L. 158.
  8. The Central State Archive of the Russian Federation. F. 1263 (Otchety nachalnika Terskoy oblasti za 1881-1888 gg. [Reports of the Terek Region Chief for the Years 1881-1888). Op. 2. D. 5187. Ll. 2-7, 325, 354.

Проблемы миссионерства на Северном Кавказе в контексте просветительской политики России (XIX век)

Вестник ТюмГУ. Гуманитарные исследования. Humanitates


Выпуск:

2016. Том 2. №3

Название: 
Проблемы миссионерства на Северном Кавказе в контексте просветительской политики России (XIX век)


Об авторе:

Блейх Надежда Оскаровна, доктор исторических наук, профессор кафедры психолого-педагогических и медицинских проблем социальной работы, Северо-Осетинский государственный университет им. К. Л. Хетагурова; nadezhda-blejjkh@mail.ru

Аннотация:

В статье на основе архивных и документальных материалов рассматриваются проблемы миссионерства на Северном Кавказе в сфере просветительской политики России XIX века. В работе задействовались историко-сравнительный, структурный и абстрактно-логический методы исследования. Каждый из них имел свою область применения и сыграл важную роль в обработке, систематизации и обобщении исследуемого материала.

Доказывается, что просветительская политика была направлена на вовлечение горских народов в капиталистические отношения и их приобщение к русской культуре посредством миссионерских организаций, таких как «Общество восстановления христианства на Кавказе», и отдельных деятелей из среды самих горцев (Гайоз Бараташвили, Даниил Чокадзе и др.). Проповедники не только просвещали горцев словом Божьем, но и вносили посильный вклад в дело образования нерусских народов, что являлось важным фактором в их культурном развитии. Параллельно они содействовали разработке письменности для горских этносов и учреждению для них школ, пусть и церковно-приходского порядка.

Результатами исследования стало осмысление того факта, что школьная политика Российской империи на ее окраинах была противоречивой, проводившейся без учета особенностей народного менталитета, игнорировавшей в обучении роли материнских языков, обычаев и традиций горцев. Но, несмотря на это, произошел прогресс в образовании горских народов. Они встали на путь своего духовного возрождения, а проповеднические организации сыграли большую роль в деле укрепления российско-кавказских связей и содействовали укреплению мировоззренческих позиций империи в борьбе с магометанством посредством просвещения.

В заключение автором делаются выводы о том, что миссионерские организации не возымели особого значения для иноверцев в плане христианизации, но объективно создали ситуацию возникновения учебных заведений светского характера, пусть и в соответствии с установлениями общероссийских требований к школьным программам и законотворческих кодексов о школе, которые в конечном итоге привели к появлению на Северном Кавказе образованных горцев.

Список литературы:

  1. Блейх Н. О. Специфика становления просветительской мысли у северокавказских народов в первой половине Х1Х века. Монография / Н. О. Блейх. Владикавказ, 2009. 265 с. 
  2. Гатагова Л. С. Правительственная политика и народное образование на Кавказе в XIX веке / Л. С. Гатагова. М., 1993. 213 с. 
  3. Материалы по истории осетинского народа. Сборник документов. Орджоникидзе, 1938. Т. 2. 534 с. 
  4. Тогошвили Г. Д. Взаимоотношения осетинского и грузинского народов в XV-XX вв. / Г. Д. Тогошвили. Тбилиси, 1971. 213 с. 
  5. Тотоев М. С. Народное образование и педагогическая мысль в дореволюционной Северной Осетии / М. С. Тотоев. Орджоникидзе, 1962. 313 с. 
  6. Центральный государственный архив Российской Федерации (ЦГА РФ). Ф. 1268. (Документы по школьному образованию нерусских народов). Оп . 19. Д. 177. Л. 31-33. 
  7. Центральный государственный архив Российской Федерации (ЦГА РФ). Ф. 173 (Канцелярия попечителя Кавказского учебного округа). Оп. 73. Д. 385. Л. 158. 
  8. Центральный государственный архив Российской Федерации (ЦГА РФ). Ф. 1263 (Отчеты начальника Терской области за 1881-1888 гг.). Оп. 2. Д. 5187. Л. 2-7, 325, 354.