Russian naval commanders in the estimates of the german naval attache in 1901-1912

Tyumen State University Herald. Humanities Research. Humanitates


Release:

Vesntik TSU. History. 2013

Title: 
Russian naval commanders in the estimates of the german naval attache in 1901-1912


About the authors:

Stanislav N. Sinegubov, Dr. Sci. (Hist.), Professor at the Department of History, Social and Economic Disciplines, Ishim Teacher Training Institute named after P. P. Ershov (Tyumen State University Branch), globus_75@inbox.ru

Sergey P. Shilov, Dr. Sci. (Hist.), Professor at the Department of History, Social and Economic Disciplines, Ishim Teacher Training Institute named after P. P. Ershov (Tyumen State University Branch), sshilov@mail.ru

Abstract:

The paper analyses the characteristics of the Russian naval commanders given by the German naval attaches in their reports to Berlin in 1901-1912. While characterizing them the attaches paid attention first of all to their professional features. To their opinion they influenced the promotion of the Russian naval officers. Among a great number of top officials in the Russian fleet the German attaches especially valued “the Russian Germans” as to their mind they were particularly industrious and disciplined. In addition, the messages are the data that characterize the general state of affairs in the main fleet — the Baltic and the Black Sea, which allowed making up the conclusions about the priority of their development plans of the Russian authorities. Taking into consideration the research materials the authors show the influence they had on forming the policy of A. Tirpitz’ Naval Ministry to Russia including such an important issue as making a naval alliance.

References:

1. Tirpitz, A. Erinnerungen. Leipzig, 1919; Tirpitz, A. Poltische Dokumente. Bd. 1-2. Stuttgart, 1924-1926; Tirpitz, A. Über den strategisch-taktischen Ursprung der Flottengesetze // Nauticus. 1926. Jhrg. 28. S. 185-202; Churchill, W. S. First Lord of the Admiralty 1911 to 1915. London, 1923; Churchill, W. S. The world crisis 1911-1918. Vol. 1. London, 1938.

2. Skagerrakschlacht. Vorgeschichte — Ereignis — Verarbeitung». München, 2009; Sinegubov, S.N. Uporstvo protiv sily: germano-anglijskoe morskoe protivostojanie v 1900-1914 gg. [Persistence against strength: German-British naval confrontation in 1900-1914s]. Tyumen, 2010 (in Russian).

3. Bundesarchiv-Militärarchiv. Reichsmarineamt. Freiburg. (Federal Military Archive. Naval Office. Freiburg, then — BA-MA. RM) 3/6657, AB 214-220. Auszüge aus dem Entwurf einer Aufzeichnung aus der Etatabsteilung des Reichsmarineamts vom Februar 1900. «Die Sicherung Deutschland gegen einen englischen Angrif» // Berghahn, V.R. Deist W. Rüstung im Zeichen der wilhelminischen Weltpolitik. Grundlegende Dokumente 1890-1914. Düsseldorf, 1988. S. 128.

4. Shilov, S.P. Kajzerovskij voenno-morskoj flot i Rossija: ot idei germano-russkogo sojuza k konfrontacii v 1897-1914 gg. [Kaiser's navy and Russia: from the idea of the German-Russian alliance to confrontation in 1897-1914s]. Tyumen, 2004 (in Russian).

5. Rossijskij gosudarstvennyj arhiv voenno-morskogo flota (RGA VMF) [Russian State Naval Archives (RSNA)]. F. 417. Op. 1. D. 446. L. 37-40 (in Russian).

6. The activities of the fleets of France and Russia in the event of war against the Triple Alliance. Morskoj sbornik — Naval Collection. 1890. № 6. P. 1-11 (in Russian).

7. Sinegubov, S.N. Syndrome of «military threat» as a constant factor of the German-British relations 1904-1911s. Izvestija Altajskogo gosudarstvennogo universiteta — Izvestia of Altai State University. 2009. № 4/1 (64/1). P. 202-210 (in Russian).

8. BA-MA. RM 3/2843. Marineattache für nordischen Reichen. 20.01.1901.

9. BA-MA. RM 3/2843. Marineattache für nordischen Reichen. 20.01.1901.

10. BA-MA. RM 5/885. Hintze an Kaiser. 09.04.1903.

11. BA-MA. RM 3/2843. Marineattache für nordischen Reichen. 20.01.1901.

12.BA-MA. RM 3/2850. Marineattache für nordischen Reichen. 14.07.1905.

13. BA-MA. RM 5/1505. Hintze an Kaiser. 11.04.1906.

14. BA-MA. RM 3/2851. Hintze an Kaiser. 29.08.1906.

15. BA-MA. RM 5/1505. Hintze an Kaiser. 27.10.1907.

16. BA-MA. RM 3/2855. Hintze an Kaiser. 19.06.1910.

17. BA-MA. RM 3/2856. Keyserling an Tirpitz. 31.10.1911.

18. Bennett, G. Skagerrkschlacht. München, 1976. S. 99, 140 ff.

19. Güth, R. Von Revolution zu Revolution — Entwicklungen und Führungsproblemeder deutschen Marine 1848-1918. Herford, 1978. S. 81 ff.

20. BA-MA. RM 3/2856. Fischer-Loβeinen an Tirpitz. 01.04. 1912.

21. Istorija voenno-morskogo iskusstva [The history of the naval art]. V. 3. The naval art of the imperialism age. M., 1953. P. 13-14; Docenko, V.D. Istorija voenno-morskogo iskusstva [The history of the naval art]. V. 1. Arming and theory. M., 2005. P. 578 (in Russian).

Вестник ТюмГУ. Гуманитарные исследования. Humanitates


Выпуск:

Вестник ТюмГУ. История. 2013

Название: 
Российские флотоводцы в оценках германских морских атташе (1901-1912 гг.)


Об авторах:

Синегубов Станислав Николаевич, доктор исторических наук, профессор кафедры истории, социально-экономических и общественных дисциплин Ишимского педагогического института им. П. П. Ершова (филиал ТюмГУ), globus_75@inbox.ru

Шилов Сергей Павлович, доктор исторических наук, профессор кафедры истории, социально-экономических и общественных дисциплин Ишимского педагогического института им. П. П. Ершова (филиал ТюмГУ), sshilov@mail.ru

Аннотация:

В статье анализируются характеристики российских флотоводцев, которые давали им германские морские атташе в донесениях в Берлин в 1901-1912 гг. В своих оценках они обращали внимание, прежде всего, на профессиональные качества, но отмечали также и важные черты характера. Последнее, по их мнению, влияло на карьерный рост того или иного российского морского офицера. Из немалого числа высших должностных лиц в российском флоте германские атташе особо выделяли «русских немцев», поскольку они, по их мнению, отличались дисциплинированностью и исполнительностью.В посланиях приводятся данные, которые характеризуют общее состояние дел на главных флотах — Балтийском и Черноморском, что позволяло делать заключение о приоритетности их развития в планах российских властей. На основе рассмотренного материала авторы показывают, как сведения германских представителей в Петербурге влияли на формирование политики в отношении России со стороны ведомства А.Тирпица, в том числе и по такому важному вопросу, как заключение морского союза.

Список литературы:

1. Tirpitz, A. Erinnerungen. Leipzig, 1919; Tirpitz, A. Poltische Dokumente. Bd. 1-2. Stuttgart, 1924-1926; Tirpitz, A. Über den strategisch-taktischen Ursprung der Flottengesetze // Nauticus. 1926. Jhrg. 28. S. 185-202; Churchill, W. S. First Lord of the Admiralty 1911 to 1915. London, 1923; Churchill, W. S. The world crisis 1911-1918. Vol. 1. London, 1938.

2. Skagerrakschlacht. Vorgeschichte — Ereignis — Verarbeitung». München, 2009; Синегубов С.Н. Упорство против силы: германо-английское морское противостояние в 1900-1914 гг. Тюмень, 2010.

3. Bundesarchiv-Militärarchiv. Reichsmarineamt. Freiburg. (Федеральный Военный архив. Военно-морское ведомство. г. Фрайбург, далее — BA-MA. RM). RM 3/6657, AB 214-220. Auszüge aus dem Entwurf einer Aufzeichnung aus der Etatabsteilung des Reichsmarineamts vom Februar 1900. «Die Sicherung Deutschland gegen einen englischen Angrif» // Berghahn, V.R. Deist W. Rüstung im Zeichen der wilhelminischen Weltpolitik. GrundlegendeDokumente 1890-1914. Düsseldorf, 1988. S. 128.

4. Шилов С.П. Кайзеровский военно-морской флот и Россия: от идеи германо-русского союза к конфронтации в 1897-1914 гг. Тюмень, 2004.

5. Российский государственный архив военно-морского флота (далее — РГА ВМФ). Ф. 417. Оп. 1. Д. 446. Л. 37-40.

6. О деятельности флотов Франции и России в случае войны против Тройственного союза. Морская хроника // Морской сборник. 1890. № 6. С. 1-11.

7. Синегубов С.Н. Синдром «военной угрозы» как постоянный фактор германо- английских отношений 1904-1911 гг. // Известия Алтайского государственного университета. 2009. № 4/1 (64/1). С. 202-210.

8. BA-MA. RM 3/2843. Marineattache für nordischen Reichen. 20.01.1901.

9. BA-MA. RM 3/2843. Marineattache für nordischen Reichen. 20.01.1901.

10. BA-MA. RM 5/885. Hintze an Kaiser. 09.04.1903.

11. BA-MA. RM 3/2843. Marineattache für nordischen Reichen. 20.01.1901.

12.BA-MA. RM 3/2850. Marineattache für nordischen Reichen. 14.07.1905.

13. BA-MA. RM 5/1505. Hintze an Kaiser. 11.04.1906.

14. BA-MA. RM 3/2851. Hintze an Kaiser. 29. 08.1906.

15. BA-MA. RM 5/1505. Hintze an Kaiser. 27.10.1907.

16. BA-MA. RM 3/2855. Hintze an Kaiser. 19.06.1910.

17. BA-MA. RM 3/2856. Keyserling an Tirpitz. 31.10.1911.

18. Bennett, G. Skagerrkschlacht. München, 1976. S. 99, 140 ff.

19. Güth, R. Von Revolution zu Revolution — Entwicklungen und Führungsprobleme der deutschen Marine 1848-1918. Herford, 1978. S. 81 ff.

20. BA-MA. RM 3/2856. Fischer-Loβeinen an Tirpitz. 01.04.1912. 97 история Российские флотоводцы в оценках германских морских атташе ...

21. История военно-морского искусства. Т. 3. Военно-морское искусство эпохи империализма. М., 1953. С. 13-14; Доценко В.Д. История военно-морского искусства. Т.1. Вооружения и теория. М., 2005. С. 578.