Impact of water and CO2 on the mechanical properties of low permeable rocks

Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy


Release:

2021. Vol. 7. № 2 (26)

Title: 
Impact of water and CO2 on the mechanical properties of low permeable rocks


For citation: Kislitsyn A. A., Lipatov N. V. 2021. “Impact of water and CO2 on the mechanical properties of low permeable rocks”. Tyumen State University Herald.. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy, vol. 7, no. 2 (26), pp. 130-146. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2021-7-2-130-146

About the authors:

Anatoliy A. Kislitsin, Dr. Sci. (Phys.-Math.), Professor, Department of Experimental Physics and Nanotechnology, University of Tyumen; akislicyn@utmn.ru

Nikita V. Lipatov, Postgraduate Student, Department of Applied and Technical Physics, University of Tyumen; Head of Mechanical Research Laboratory, Coretest Service Ltd.; lipatov.n.v@mail.ru

Abstract:

This article features experiments on triaxial compression of low-permeable dolomite samples with different confining pressures (2-20 MPa), different pore fluids (dry air, water, CO2), and different temperatures (25-150 °C). The authors have studied the effect of confining pressure, pore fluid and temperature on the strength properties of the studied samples. The results show an increase in the strength with grwoing confining pressure. When the confining pressure increases from 2 to 20 MPa, the compressive strength increases from 86 to 370 MPa. Temperature has a significant effect on rock strength under low confining pressure conditions. With the increasing confining pressure reaching 15 MPa, increasing temperature has little effect on the strength of dolomite samples. Under an effective confining pressure of 5 MPa, the temperature weakening occurs on the dolomite specimens when the temperature exceeds 90 °C. During compression, liquid diffusion occurs in the specimens. Higher water viscosity can cause a temporary decrease in effective confining pressure, which can increase the strength of the rock. More prominent fractures are observed in the samples, and more fluid is injected under CO2 injection conditions, which may be useful for increasing the permeability of the geothermal reservoir. Two groups of experiments have been performed on the samples in this study: the first group of experiments investigated the effect of confining pressure on the fracture stress of core samples, without pore fluid injection; the second group of experiments investigated the effect of water or CO2 and temperature on the mechanical properties of core samples.

References:

  1. Baikov N. M. 2012. “Experience in improving oil recovery in the U.S. fields by injecting CO2”. Oil Economy, no. 11, pp. 141-143. [In Russian]

  2. GOST 5180-2015. “Soils. Methods of laboratory determination of physical characteristics”. Electronic Fund of Legal and Regulatory-Technical Information. https://docs.cntd.ru/document/1200126371 [In Russian]

  3. Zakiev I. D., Radaev A. V., Rakhimov R. L., Sabirzyanov A. N. 2014. “Study of viscous oil displacement by supercritical carbon dioxide in a wide range of changing thermobaric conditions”. Proceedings of 14th Russian Conference on Thermophysical Properties of Substances (RKTS-14): in 2 vols. Plenary and Oral Reports, vol. 1, pp. 366-368. Kazan: Otechestvo. [In Russian]

  4. Solodovnikov A. O., Andreev O. V. 2012. “Application of CO2-containing compositions to enhance oil recovery”. Proceedings of Higher Educational Institutions. Oil and Gas, no. 5, pp. 69-74. [In Russian]

  5. Surguchev L. M. 2001. “Review of tertiary methods of oil recovery enhancement”. Oil economy, no. 5, pp. 50-54. [In Russian]

  6. Alejano L. R., Arzúa J., Bozorgzadeh N., Harrison J. P. 2017. “Triaxial strength and deformability of intact and increasingly jointed granite samples”. International Journal of Rock Mechanics and Mining Sciences, vol. 95, pp. 87-103. DOI: 10.1016/j.ijrmms.2017.03.009

  7. Chen Y. 2018. “Permeability evolution in granite under compressive stress condition”. Geotechnical and Geological Engineering, vol. 36, no. 8, pp. 641-647. DOI: 10.1007/s10706-017-0313-x

  8. Kranz R. L. 2009. “The effects of confining pressure and stress difference on static fatigue of granite”. Journal of Geophysical Research, vol. 85, pp. 37-66. DOI: 10.1029/JB085iB04p01854

  9. Linstrom P. J., Mallard W. G. “NIST Chemistry WebBook”. National Institute of Standards and Technology. https://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/

  10. Nasseri M. H. B., Tatone B. S. A., Grasselli G., Young R. P. 2018. “Fracture toughness and fracture roughness interrelationship in thermally treated westerly granite”. Rock Physics and Natural Hazards, vol. 166, pp. 641-647. DOI: 10.1007/978-3-0346-0122-1_4

  11. Noorian-Bidgoli M., Jing L. 2015. “Water pressure effects on strength and deformability of fractured rocks under low confining pressures”. Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering, vol. 48, pp. 971-985. DOI: 10.1007/s00603-014-0628-3

  12. Zoback M. D. 2007. Reservoir Geomechanics. New York: Cambridge University Press. 504 pp.

Вестник ТюмГУ. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика.


Выпуск:

2021. Том 7. № 2 (26)

Название: 
Воздействие воды и СО2 на механические свойства низкопроницаемых горных пород


Для цитирования: Кислицын А. А. Воздействие воды и СО2 на механические свойства низкопроницаемых горных пород / А. А. Кислицын, Н. В. Липатов // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика. 2021. Том 7. № 2 (26). С. 130-146. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2021-7-2-130-146

Об авторах:

Кислицын Анатолий Александрович, доктор физико-математических наук, профессор кафедры экспериментальной физики и нанотехнологий, Тюменский государственный университет; akislicyn@utmn.ru

Липатов Никита Владимирович, аспирант кафедры прикладной и технической физики, Тюменский государственный университет, заведующий лабораторией механических исследований ООО «Корэтест Сервис»; lipatov.n.v@mail.ru

Аннотация:

Представлены результаты экспериментального исследования прочности на трехосное сжатие низкопроницаемых образцов доломита с различным ограничивающим давлением (от 2 до 20 МПа), разными поровыми флюидами (сухой воздух, вода, СО2) и различными температурами (от 25 до 150 °C). Эксперименты проводились на установке, позволяющей измерить модуль упругости, коэффициент Пуассона, предел текучести, напряжение разрушения, а также соответствующую осевую и радиальную деформацию. Были выполнены две группы экспериментов: в первой исследовалось влияние ограничивающего давления на напряжение разрушения образцов керна без закачки поровой жидкости; во второй группе изучалось влияние температуры на механические свойства образцов керна, в поры которых закачивалась вода или СО2 в сверхкритическом состоянии. Показано, что прочность породы увеличивается с увеличением ограничивающего давления. При увеличении ограничивающего давления c 2 до 20 МПа прочность на сжатие увеличивается c 86 до 370 МПа. Закачка поровой жидкости снижает эффективное ограничивающее давление, и прочность кернов снижается приблизительно в полтора раза. Температура оказывает значительное влияние на прочность породы при ограничивающем давлении менее 15 МПа, причем это влияние температуры на прочность не является монотонным. Нагревание от комнатной температуры до 90 °C (при ограничивающем давлении до 15 МПа) повышает прочность доломита, но при дальнейшем нагреве прочность образцов уменьшается. При увеличении ограничивающего давления выше 15 МПа влияние температуры на прочность образцов доломита снижается. Обсуждаются возможные причины этих особенностей.

Список литературы:

  1. Байков Н. М. Опыт повышения нефтеотдачи на месторождениях США путем закачки CO2 / Н. М. Байков // Нефтяное хозяйство. 2012. № 11. С. 141-143.

  2. ГОСТ 5180-2015 «Грунты. Методы лабораторного определения физических характеристик» // Электронный фонд правовой и нормативно-технической информации. URL: https://docs.cntd.ru/document/1200126371

  3. Закиев И. Д. Исследование процесса вытеснения вязкой нефти сверхкритическим диоксидом углерода в широком интервале изменения термобарических условий // И. Д. Закиев, А. В. Радаев, Р. Л. Рахимов, А. Н. Сабирзянов // Материалы XIV Российской конференции по теплофизическим свойствам веществ (РКТС-14): в 2 томах. Пленарные и устные доклады. Казань: Отечество, 2014. Том 1. С. 366-368.

  4. Солодовников А. О. Применение СО2-содержащих составов для повышения нефтеотдачи пластов / А. О. Солодовников, О. В. Андреев // Известия высших учебных заведений. Нефть и газ. 2012. № 5. С. 69-74.

  5. Сургучев Л. М. Обзор третичных методов увеличения нефтеотдачи / Л. М. Сургучев // Нефтяное хозяйство. 2001. № 5. С. 50-54.

  6. Alejano L. R. Triaxial strength and deformability of intact and increasingly jointed granite samples / L. R. Alejano, J. Arzúa, N. Bozorgzadeh, J. P. Harrison // International Journal of Rock Mechanics and Mining Sciences. 2017. Vol. 95. Pp. 87-103. DOI: 10.1016/j.ijrmms.2017.03.009

  7. Chen Y. Permeability Evolution in Granite under Compressive Stress Condition // Geotechnical and Geological Engineering. 2018. Vol. 36, No. 8. Pp. 641-647. DOI: 10.1007/s10706-017-0313-x

  8. Kranz R. L. The effects of confining pressure and stress difference on static fatigue of granite / R. L. Kranz // Journal of Geophysical Research. 2009. Vol. 85. Pp. 37-66. DOI: 10.1029/JB085iB04p01854

  9. Linstrom P. J. NIST Chemistry WebBook / P. J. Linstrom, W. G. Mallard // National Institute of Standards and Technology. URL: https://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/

  10. Nasseri M. H. B. Fracture Toughness and Fracture Roughness Interrelationship in Thermally treated Westerly Granite / M. H. B. Nasseri, B. S. A. Tatone, G. Grasselli, R. P. Young // Rock Physics and Natural Hazards. 2018. Vol. 166. Pp. 641-647. DOI: 10.1007/978-3-0346-0122-1_4

  11. Noorian-Bidgoli M. Water Pressure Effects on Strength and Deformability of Fractured Rocks Under Low Confining Pressures / M. Noorian-Bidgoli, L. Jing // Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering. 2015. Vol. 48. Pp. 971-985. DOI: 10.1007/s00603-014-0628-3

  12. Zoback M. D. Reservoir Geomechanics / M. D. Zoback. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2007. 504 pp.