Activism identification in law enforcement approaches of judges of the European Court of Human Rights

Tyumen State University Herald. Social, Economic, and Law Research


Release:

2020, Vol. 6. № 1 (21)

Title: 
Activism identification in law enforcement approaches of judges of the European Court of Human Rights


For citation: Klyuchnikov A. Yu. 2020. “Activism identification in law enforcement approaches of judges of the european court of human rights”. Tyumen State University Herald. Social, Economic, and Law Research, vol. 6, no. 1 (21), pp. 129-139. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7897-2020-6-1-129-139

About the author:

Andrew Yu. Klyuchnikov, Cand. Sci. (Jur.), Associate Professor, Associate Professor, Department of Constitutional and International Law, Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration (Lipetsk Branch); Judge, Lipetsk Pravoberezhniy District Court; andrew19871961@mail.ru

Abstract:

The European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) is a unique institution not only in Europe, but in the whole world; it is by far the most effective among all the international human rights courts. Since its foundationing in 1959, it has dealt a huge number of decisions, becoming the most active participant in the international justice. The success of individual appeals, on which the entire Convention system is based, has inevitably led to the involvement of new areas of human rights in the subject of the court’s research, and has extended it to a new range of subjects. The Court’s systematic expansion of the area (borders) of the protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms, and the involvement of new areas in it due to the progressive nature of the practice, is a positive quality. The rich and diverse Strasbourg practice has changed the political and legal landscape of Europe. This has led to the ECHR becoming a victim of its own success, in some cases invading the sovereign powers of states and affecting their constitutional identity. Among practitioners and researchers of international justice issues, the voices about excessive activism of the Court started appearing more often.

The author of this article studies the factors that contribute to the manifestation of activist positions by judges of the ECHR, identifies forms of activism, and distinguishes them from judicial passivism. The material for the article includes the work of prominent researchers of international justice problems, judges of the ECHR, Russian authors, and the judicial practice of this supranational court. The author uses traditional research methods — general scientific and special, with an emphasis on the comparative legal method. The subject of the study is the author’s scientific concepts that reveal judicial activism through the case-law of the ECHR. The relevance of the work lies in the problem of using the practice of supranational courts in national justice, and the effective application of the developed standards.

References:

  1. Belov S. A. 2018. “The constitutional model of legitimising decisions of the organs of international organisations”. Journal of Constitutional Justice, no. 2, pp. 1-10. [In Russian]

  2. Ivanenko A. A. 2015. “Forms and limits of interpretative activity of the european court of human rights”. Siberian Law Review, no. 4 (29), pp. 17-21. [In Russian]

  3. Klyuchnikov A. Yu. 2020. “On acceptance criteria for law-making decisions of the international court of justice”. International Criminal Law and International Justice, no. 1, pp. 8-11. [In Russian]

  4. Klyuchnikov A. Yu. 2019. “On legitimacy of the European Court of Human Rights”. Russian Judge, no. 3, pp. 43-46. [In Russian]

  5. Klyuchnikov A. Yu. 2019. “The main approaches to the definition of the international courts’ competence”. Tyumen State University Herald. Social, Economic, and Law Research, vol. 5, no. 3 (19), pp. 128-143. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7897-2019-5-3-128-143 [In Russian]

  6. Kovalenko S. I. 2018. “The evolutionary approach of the European Court of Human Rights to the interpretation of the European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms: theoretical and legal grounds”. Vestnik Moskovskogo universiteta. Seriya 11: Pravo, no. 4, pp. 83-93. [In Russian]

  7. Timoshina E. V. 2018. “Methodology of judicial interpretation: critical analysis of the realistic approach”. Proceedings of the Institute of State and Law of the RAS, vol. 13, no. 1, pp. 72-102. [In Russian]

  8. Chechulina A. A. 2019. “The living instrument of the european convention: continuation of the discussion”. Juridical Education and Science, no. 9, pp. 26-32. [In Russian]

  9. de Blois M. 1994. “The Fundamental Freedom of the European Court of Human Rights”. In: The Dynamics of the Protection of Human Rights in Europe. Essays in Honour of G. Schermers. Vol. 3, pp. 41-48. Dordrecht; Boston; London.

  10. Costa J. P. “The European Court of Human Rights and its recent case law”. Texas International Law Journal, no. 38, pp. 455-467.

  11. Mahoney P. 1990. “Judicial activism and judicial self-restraint in the European Court of Human Rights: two sides of the same coin”. Human Rights Law Journal, no. 11, pp. 57-88.

  12. Merrills J. G. 1995. The Development of International Law by the European Court of Human Rights. Manchester. 235 pp.

Выявление активизма в правоприменительных подходах судей Европейского суда по правам человека

Вестник ТюмГУ. Социально-экономические и правовые исследования


Выпуск:

2020. Том 6. № 1 (21)

Название: 
Выявление активизма в правоприменительных подходах судей Европейского суда по правам человека


Для цитирования: Ключников А. Ю. Выявление активизма в правоприменительных подходах судей Европейского суда по правам человека / А. Ю. Ключников // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Социально-экономические и правовые исследования. 2020. Том 6. № 1 (21). С. 129-139. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7897-2020-6-1-129-139

Об авторе:

Ключников Андрей Юрьевич, кандидат юридических наук, доцент кафедры конституционного и международного права, Российская академия народного хозяйства и государственной службы (Липецкий филиал); судья Правобережного районного суда города Липецка; andrew19871961@mail.ru

Аннотация:

Европейский суд по правам человека (ЕСПЧ) — уникальный институт не только в масштабах Европы, но и всего мира, безусловно, самый эффективный из всех международных судов по правам человека. С момента своего основания в 1959 г. он принял огромное количество решений, что делает его самым активным участником международного правосудия. Успех индивидуального обжалования, на котором основана вся конвенционная система, неизбежно привел к вовлечению в предмет исследования суда всё новых сфер, касающихся прав человека, и распространил ее на новый круг субъектов. Планомерное расширение Судом области (границ) защиты прав человека и основных свобод, а также вовлечение в нее новых сфер за счет прогрессивного характера практики является его положительным качеством. Богатая и разнообразная Страсбургская практика изменила политический и правовой ландшафт Европы. Это привело к тому, что ЕСПЧ стал жертвой собственного успеха, в ряде случаев вторгаясь в суверенные полномочия государств и затрагивая их конституционную идентичность. В среде практиков и исследователей проблем международного правосудия всё чаще стали появляться голоса о чрезмерном активизме Суда.

Автор данной статьи поставил целью изучить факторы, способствующие проявлению судьями ЕСПЧ активистских позиций, выявить формы активизма, разграничить их с судейским пассивизмом. Материалом для статьи послужили работы видных исследователей проблем международного правосудия, судей ЕСПЧ, отечественных авторов, судебная практика данного наднационального суда. Автор применяет традиционные методы исследования — общенаучные и специальные, с акцентом на сравнительно-правовой метод. Предметом исследования послужили авторские научные концепции, выявляющие судебный активизм, через прецедентную практику ЕСПЧ. Актуальность работы обусловлена проблемой использования практики наднациональных судов в отечественном правосудии, эффективного применения вырабатываемых стандартов.

Список литературы:

  1. Белов С. А. Конституционная модель легитимации решений органов международных организаций / С. А. Белов// Журнал конституционного правосудия. 2018. № 2. С. 1-10.

  2. Иваненко А. А. Формы и пределы интерпретационной деятельности Европейского суда по правам человека / А. А. Иваненко // Вестник Омской юридической академии. 2015. № 4 (29). С. 17-21.

  3. Ключников А. Ю. О критериях приемлемости правотворческого решения международного суда / А. Ю. Ключников // Международное уголовное право и международная юстиция. 2020. № 1. С. 8-11.

  4. Ключников А. Ю. О легитимности Европейского суда по правам человека / А. Ю. Ключников // Российский судья. 2019. № 3. С. 43-46.

  5. Ключников А. Ю. Основные подходы к определению компетенции международными судами / А. Ю. Ключников // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Социально-экономические и правовые исследования. 2019. Том 5. № 3 (19). С. 128-143.

  6. Коваленко С. И. Эволюционный подход Европейского суда по правам человека к толкованию норм Европейской конвенции о защите прав человека и основных свобод: теоретико-правовые основания / С. И. Коваленко // Вестник Московского университета. Серия 11: Право. 2018. № 4. С. 83-93.

  7. Тимошина Е. В. Методология судебного толкования: критический анализ реалистического подхода / Е. В. Тимошина // Труды Института государства и права Российской академии наук. 2018. Том 13. № 1. С. 72-102.

  8. Чечулина А. А. Живой инструмент Европейской конвенции: продолжение дискуссии / А. А. Чечулина // Юридическое образование и наука. 2019. № 9. С. 26-32.

  9. de Blois M. The fundamental freedom of the European Court of Human Rights / M. de Blois // The Dynamics of the Protection of Human Rights in Europe. Essays in Honour of G. Schermers. Dordrecht; Boston; London. 1994. Vol. III. Pp. 44-45.

  10. Costa J. P. 2003. The European Court of Human Rights and its recent case law / J. P. Costa // Texas International Law Journal. No. 38. Pp. 455-467.

  11. Mahoney P. Judicial activism and judicial self-restraint in the European Court of Human Rights: two sides of the same coin / P. Mahoney // Human Rights Law Journal. 1990. No. 11. Pp. 57-88.

  12. Merrills J. G. The Development of International Law by the European Court of Human Rights. / J. G. Merrills. Manchester, 1995. 235 pp.