Risk and threat assessment for youths at regional labor market (the case of the Sverdlovsk Region)

Tyumen State University Herald. Social, Economic, and Law Research


Release:

2019, Vol. 5. №4(20)

Title: 
Risk and threat assessment for youths at regional labor market (the case of the Sverdlovsk Region)


For citation: Tarasova A. N., Chernykh N. A. 2019. “Risk and threat assessment for youths at regional labor market (the case of the Sverdlovsk Region)”. Tyumen State University Herald. Social, Economic, and Law Research, vol. 5, no 4 (20), pp. 52-75. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7897-2019-5-4-52-75

About the authors:

Anna N. Tarasova, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Associate Professor, Department of Sociology and Technology of State and Municipal Management, Ural Federal University (Yekaterinburg); ORCID: 0000-0002-9448-2893, Scopus Author ID: 57201826388, WoS ResearcherID: B-1811-2017, SPIN: 1228-4836, a.n.tarasova@mail.ru

Natalia A. Chernykh, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Assistant Professor, Department of Theory and History of International Relations, Ural Federal University named after the first Russian President B. N. Yeltsin (Ekaterinburg), Advisor to Ombudsman Secretariat in the Sverdlovsk Region; chernykhna@mail.ru


Abstract:

This article analyzes the main risks and threats that arise in the contemporary labor market among the young people. Given the changes that are taking place under the economical digitalization, globalization processes, as well as due to the increase in the retirement age in Russia, there is a growing need to study the emerging risks. This paper assesses the level of threats to young professionals entering the labor market. The empirical basis of the work includes the data of statistics on labor and employment in Russia and the Sverdlovsk Region, as well as the results of the two empirical studies conducted by the authors in 2018-2019 by means of content analysis of employers’ advertisements and a questionnaire survey of the population. 6,521 vacancy announcements in the Sverdlovsk region were analyzed. 630 people (aged 18-60) were interviewed the sample was quoted by sex and age. The methods of data analysis include frequency distribution analysis, mean analysis, correlation analysis, and Chi-squared difference analysis. The authors have identified the main types of risks on the labor market: they are the problems of employment and the threat of unemployment; employment outside the studied specialty and “leaving” the profession; high differentiation of wages by industry and salary risks; non-compliance with labor legislation and social guarantees; involvement in informal employment. A detailed analysis of these risks is carried out and the threat level is assessed. The authors conclude that the greatest threat in the regional labor market is the mismatch of places of employment of existing qualifications and received specialty. This threat is dangerous not only on its own, leading to the loss of professional skills and competencies, a decrease in overall productivity, etc. Even worse, it increases the likelihood of other risks in the labor market. The employment outside the studied specialty correlates with violation of labor laws, non-compliance with labor rights of employees, and involvement in informal employment.

References:

  1. Bobkov V.N. Litvinyuk А. А., Lednyova S. A. 2016. “Requirements of the Moscow employers to young specialists and problems of their preparation in educational institutions: regional specifics”. Regional Economics, vol. 12, no 4, pp. 1102-1112. [In Russian]

  2. Gimpelson V. Ye., Kapyelyushnikov R. I. 2015. “Russian model of labour market: crisis proof”. New Economic Association Magazine, no 2 (26), pp. 249-253. [In Russian]

  3. WCIOM. “The data from ‘Arkhivarius’ poll results”. Accessed 10 October 2019. http://old.wciom.ru/zh/print_q.php?s_id=988&q_id=67934&date=19.10.2014 [In Russian]

  4. Sverdlovsk Region Commissioner for Human Rights. 2019. “Welcome, or No Entrance: Special Report on Civil Rights at Employment Implementation”. http://ombudsman.midural.ru/uploads/library. [In Russian]

  5. Erznkyan B. A., Arutyunyan S. M. 2018. “Labour market in digital era” Economic Analysis. Theory and Practice, vol. 17, no 12 (483), pp. 1388-1408. [In Russian]

  6. Yerochkina N. V., Fedonina O. V. 2019. “Risk makers at regional labour market and their neutralization under stable development”. Economics and Entrepreneurs, no 5 (106), pp. 517-521. [In Russian]

  7. Zolin I. Ye. 2015. “Modern labour market: theoretical problems and their application significance”. National Interest: Priorities and Safety, no 25, pp. 28-49. [In Russian]

  8. Bondarenko N. V., Oykhberg L. M., Kovalyova N. V., et al. 2018. Education Markers: 2018: Statistics Digest. Moscow: Higher School of Economics. [In Russian]

  9. Kapyelyushnikov R. I. 2018. “Influence of the fourth industrial revolution on labour market”. Stork on a Roof. Magazine of Demographics, no 6 (6), pp. 32-36. [In Russian]

  10. Kapyelyushnikov R. I. 2001. Russian Labour Market: Adaptation without Restructuring. Moscow Higher School of Economics. [In Russian]

  11. Kapyelyushnikov R. I. 2009. End of Russian Labour Market Model. Moscow: Liberal Mission. [In Russian]

  12. Romashkina G. F. (ed.). 2012. Youths in Social Regional Environment: multi-authored monograph. Tyumen: ITMN Publishing House. [In Russian]

  13. Neustroyeva A. B. 2016. “Major labour risks of the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia)”. Reporter of the M. K. Ammosov North-Eastern Federal University. Series: Economics, Sociology, Cultural Studies, no 4 (04), pp. 24-30. [In Russian]

  14. Panov A. M. 2016. “Unstable employment: conception of notion and assessment criteria”. Territorial Development Issues, no 3 (33), pp. 10-21. [In Russian]

  15. Retivina V. V. 2019. “Labour values and modern student attitudes”. Higher Education in Russia, vol. 29, no 1, pp. 57-63. DOI: 10.31992/0869-3617-2019-28-1-57-63. [In Russian]

  16. Rekhtina N. V., Krasnova G. A. 2017. “Youth employment problems in Russia (after sociological research materials)”. Sociological Yearbook, no 8, pp. 167-174. [In Russian]

  17. Rozhkova L. V., Shubina A. S. 2018. “Sociocultiral components of youth opportunities under modern conditions”. Search: Politics, Social Studies, Sociology, Culture, no 6 (71), pp. 25-38. [In Russian]

  18. RF Federal Labor and Employment Service (Rostrud): Modern Challenge of Labour Market and Graduate Being in Demand Discussed at WorldSkills Hi-Tech. Accessed 5 November 2019. https://nangs.org/news/education/rostrud-sovremennye-vyzovy-rynka-truda-i-vostrebovannosty-vypusknik... [In Russian]

  19. Savina T. N. 2017. “Economic safety threats at labour market: assessment and assumptions”. National Interest: Priorities and Security, vol. 13, no 11 (356), pp. 2166-2184. [In Russian]

  20. Sadykov R. M., Migunova Yu. V. 2016. “Threats at regional labour market and population employment problems”. Regional Economy: Theory and Practice, no 3, pp. 156-168. [In Russian]

  21. Sannikova L. V. 2010. “Modern problems of labour and employment market in the Saratov Region: view from the point of decent work”. Upravlenets, vols. 11-12 (15-16). [In Russian]

  22. Simonova M. V., Valitova А. А. 2016. Labour Market: Regional Aspect. Moscow. ITs RIOR, NITs INFRA-M. [In Russian]

  23. RF Federal State Statistics Service. “Labour and Employment in Russia — 2017”. Accessed 29 October 2019. https://gks.ru/bgd/regl/b17_36/Main.htm [In Russian]

  24. WCIOM. “Labour rights: who is on guard?”. Accessed 10 October 2019. https://wciom.ru/index.php?id=236&uid=9157 2014 [In Russian]

  25. Nemirovskaya A. V. (ed.). 2019. Conditions and Ways to Enhance Youths Commitment as Subject of Innovations and Stable Regional Development: Proceedings of the 15th All-Russian Scientific and Practical Workshop under Initiative Program “Problems of Sociocultural Evolution in Russia and Its Regions” (9-11 October, Saint Petersburg). Compiled by N. I. Lapin and R. K. Salakhutdinova. Saint Petersburg: Renome. [In Russian]

  26. RF Federal Service for State Statistics: Official Site. Accessed 20 October 2019. https://www.gks.ru/labour_force [In Russian]

  27. Firova I. P., Bikezina T. V. 2018. “Risks and threats affecting operation of modern labour market considering digital technology development”. Science and Business: Ways of Development, no 4 (82), pp. 173-177. [In Russian]

  28. Bandara A. 2019. “Youth labor market expectations and job matching in sub-Saharan Africa: evidence from school-to-work transition surveys”. Applied Economics, vol. 51, no 8, pp. 762-780.

  29. Binelli C. 2019. “Employment and Earnings Expectations of Jobless Young Skilled: Evidence from Italy”. Social Indicators Research, vol. 145, no 1, pp. 201-231. DOI: 10.1007/s11205-019-02106-y.

  30. Dhakal S. P. 2018. “Inclusion and work: addressing the global challenges for youth employment”. Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, vol. 37, no 2, pp. 110-120.

  31. Quintini G. 2011. “Over-qualified or under-skilled: a review of existing literature”. OECD Social, Employment and Migration Working Papers, no 121, pp. 3-47. Paris: OECD Publishing. DOI: 10.1787/5kg58j9d7b6d-en

  32. Rubery J. 2015. “Change at work: feminisation, flexibilisation, fragmentation and financialisation”. Employee Relations, October, vol. 37, no 6, pp. 633-644. DOI: 10.1108/ER-04-2015-0067.

  33. Turek D. 2015. “Competencies of young people on the labour market — employers expectations”. E-Mentor, no 3 (60), pp. 8-16. DOI: 10.15219/em60.1179

Оценка рисков и угроз для молодежи на региональном рынке труда (на примере Свердловской области)

Вестник ТюмГУ. Социально-экономические и правовые исследования


Выпуск:

2019. Том 5. №4(20)

Название: 
Оценка рисков и угроз для молодежи на региональном рынке труда (на примере Свердловской области)


Для цитирования: Тарасова А. Н. Оценка рисков и угроз для молодежи на региональном рынке труда (на примере Свердловской области) / А. Н. Тарасова, Н. А. Черных // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Социально-экономические и правовые исследования. 2019. Том 5. № 4 (20). С. 52-75. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7897-2019-5-4-52-75

Об авторах:

Тарасова Анна Николаевна, кандидат социологических наук, доцент кафедры социологии и технологий государственного и муниципального управления, Уральский федеральный университет имени первого Президента России Б. Н. Ельцина (г. Екатеринбург); ORCID: 0000-0002-9448-2893, Scopus Author ID: 57201826388, WoS ResearcherID: B-1811-2017, SPIN: 1228-4836, a.n.tarasova@mail.ru

Черных Наталья Анатольевна, кандидат социологических наук, доцент кафедры теории и истории международных отношений, Уральский федеральный университет имени первого Президента России Б. Н. Ельцина (г. Екатеринбург); консультант аппарата Уполномоченного по правам человека в Свердловской области (г. Екатеринбург); chernykhna@mail.ru


Аннотация:

Статья посвящена анализу основных рисков и угроз, которые возникают на современном рынке труда для молодежи. Учитывая изменения, происходящие под влиянием цифровизации экономики, процессов глобализации, а также вследствие повышения возраста выхода на пенсию в России, растет необходимость изучения возникающих рисков. В работе дана оценка уровня угроз для молодых специалистов, выходящих на рынок труда. Эмпирической базой работы послужили данные статистики по труду и занятости в России и Свердловской области, а также результаты двух эмпирических исследований, проведенных авторами в 2018-2019 гг. методами контент-анализа объявлений работодателей и анкетного опроса населения. Проанализировано 6 521 объявление о вакансиях в Свердловской области. Опрошено 630 человек в возрасте от 18 до 60 лет, выборка квотировалась по полу и возрасту. В качестве методов анализа данных использовались: анализ частотных распределений, анализ средних, корреляционный анализ и анализ различий методом хи-квадрат. Были выделены основные типы рисков на рынке труда. Это проблемы трудоустройства и угроза безработицы, работа не по специальности и «уход» из профессии, высокая дифференциация оплаты труда по отраслям и зарплатные риски, несоблюдение норм трудового законодательства и социальных гарантий, вовлечение в неформальную занятость. Проведен детальный анализ этих рисков и дана оценка уровня угроз. Сделан вывод, что наибольшую угрозу на региональном рынке труда представляет несоответствие мест трудоустройства имеющейся квалификации и полученной специальности. Данная угроза опасна не только сама по себе, поскольку ведет к утрате профессиональных навыков и компетенций, снижению общей производительности труда и др., но она увеличивает вероятность наступления прочих рисков на рынке труда. Работа не по специальности коррелирует с нарушением норм трудового законодательства, несоблюдением трудовых прав работников, вовлечением в неформальную занятость.

Список литературы:

  1. Бобков В. Н. Требования работодателей города Москвы к молодым специалистам и проблемы их подготовки в учебных заведениях: региональная специфика / В. Н. Бобков, А. А. Литвинюк, С. А. Леднева // Экономика региона. 2016. Том 12. Вып. 4. С. 1102-1112.

  2. Гимпельсон В. Е. Российская модель рынка труда: испытание кризисом / В. Е. Гимпельсон, Р. И. Капелюшников // Журнал новой экономической ассоциации. 2015. № 2 (26). С. 249-253.

  3. Данные из базы результатов опросов «Архивариус» // Сайт ВЦИОМ. URL: http://old.wciom.ru/zh/print_q.php?s_id=988&q_id=67934&date=19.10.2014 (дата обращения: 10.10.2019).

  4. Добро пожаловать, или Вход воспрещен: специальный доклад о реализации прав граждан при приеме на работу. 2019. URL: http://ombudsman.midural.ru/uploads/library/Доклад_.pdf

  5. Ерзнкян Б. А. Рынок труда в цифровую эпоху / Б. А. Ерзнкян, С. М. Арутюнян // Экономический анализ: теория и практика. 2018. Том 17. № 12 (483). С. 1388-1408.

  6. Ерочкина Н. В. Рискообразующие факторы на региональном рынке труда и их нейтрализация в условиях устойчивого развития / Н. В. Ерочкина, О. В. Федонина // Экономика и предпринимательство. 2019. № 5 (106). С. 517-521.

  7. Золин И. Е. Современный рынок труда: теоретические проблемы и их прикладное значение / И. Е. Золин // Национальные интересы: приоритеты и безопасность. 2015. № 25. С. 28-49.

  8. Индикаторы образования: 2018: статистический сборник / Н. В. Бондаренко, Л. М. Ойхберг, Н. В. Ковалева и др. М.: НИУ ВШЭ, 2018. 66 с.

  9. Капелюшников Р. И. Влияние четвертой промышленной революции на рынок труда / Р. И. Капелюшников // Аист на крыше. Демографический журнал. 2018. № 6 (6). С. 32-36.

  10. Капелюшников Р. И. Российский рынок труда: адаптация без реструктуризации / Р. И. Капелюшников. М.: ГУ-ВШЭ, 2001. 309 с.

  11. Капелюшников Р. И. Конец российской модели рынка труда? / Р. И. Капелюшников. М.: Либеральная миссия, 2009. 72 с.

  12. Молодежь в социальном пространстве региона: коллективная монография / науч. ред. Г. Ф. Ромашкина. Тюмень: Изд-во Тюменского гос. ун-та, 2012. 236 с.

  13. Неустроева А. Б. Основные риски труда Республики Саха (Якутия) / А. Б. Неустроева // Вестник Северо-Восточного федерального университета им. М. К. Аммосова. Серия: экономика, социология, культурология. 2016. № 4 (04). С. 24-30.

  14. Панов А. М. Неустойчивая занятость: концептуализация понятия и критерии оценки / А. М. Панов // Вопросы территориального развития. 2016. № 3 (33). С. 10-21.

  15. Ретивина В. В. Трудовые ценности и установки современной студенческой молодежи / В. В. Ретивина // Высшее образование в России. 2019. Том 29. № 1. С. 57-63. DOI: 10.31992/0869-3617-2019-28-1-57-63

  16. Рехтина Н. В. Проблемы трудоустройства молодежи в России (по материалам социологического исследования) / Н. В. Рехтина, Г. А. Краснова // Социологический альманах. 2017. № 8. С. 167-174.

  17. Рожкова Л. В. Социокультурные компоненты трудового потенциала молодежи в современных условиях / Л. В. Рожкова, А. Ш. Дубина // Поиск: политика, обществоведение, искусство, социология, культура. 2018. № 6 (71). С. 25-38.

  18. Роструд: современные вызовы рынка труда и востребованность выпускников обсудили на WorldSkills Hi-Tech. URL: https://nangs.org/news/education/rostrud-sovremennye-vyzovy-rynka-truda-i-vostrebovannosty-vypusknik... (дата обращения: 05.11.2019).

  19. Савина Т. Н. Угрозы экономической безопасности на рынке труда: оценка и прогноз / Т. Н. Савина // Национальные интересы: приоритеты и безопасность. 2017. Том 13. № 11 (356). С. 2166-2184.

  20. Садыков Р. М. Угрозы на региональном рынке труда и проблемы занятости населения / Р. М. Садыков, Ю. В. Мигунова // Региональная экономика: теория и практика. 2016. № 3. С. 156-168.

  21. Санникова Л. В. Современные проблемы рынка труда и занятости в Саратовской области: взгляд с позиции достойного труда / Л. В. Санникова // Управленец. 2010. № 11-12 (15-16). С. 32.

  22. Симонова М. В. Рынок труда: региональный аспект / М. В. Симонова, А. А. Валитова. М.: ИЦ РИОР, НИЦ ИНФРА-М, 2016. 213 с.

  23. Труд и занятость в России — 2017 / Федеральная служба государственной статистики. URL: https://gks.ru/bgd/regl/b17_36/Main.htm (дата обращения: 29.10.2019).

  24. Трудовые права: кто на страже? Данные опроса ВЦИОМ // Сайт ВЦИОМ. URL: https://wciom.ru/index.php?id=236&uid=9157 2014 (дата обращения: 10.10.2019).

  25. Условия и способы повышения активности молодежи как субъекта инноваций и устойчивого развития регионов: сб. докл. ст. участников XV Всерос. науч.-практ. конф. в рамках инициативной программы «Проблемы социокультурной эволюции России и ее регионов» (Санкт-Петербург, 9-11 октября 2019 г.) / сост. Н. И. Лапин, Р. Х. Салахутдинова, отв. ред. А. В. Немировская. СПб.: Реноме, 2019. 648 с.

  26. Федеральная служба государственной статистики: официальный сайт. URL: https://www.gks.ru/labour_force (дата обращения: 20.10.2019).

  27. Фирова И. П. Риски и угрозы, оказывающие влияние на функционирование современного рынка труда с учетом развития цифровых технологий / И. П. Фирова, Т. В. Бикезина // Наука и бизнес: пути развития. 2018. № 4 (82). С. 173-177.

  28. Bandara A. Youth labor market expectations and job matching in sub-Saharan Africa: evidence from school-to-work transition surveys / А. Bandara // Applied Economics. 2019. Vol. 51. No 8. Pp. 762-780.

  29. Binelli C. Employment and earnings expectations of jobless young skilled: evidence from Italy / C. Binelli // Social Indicators Research. 2019. Vol. 145. No 1. Pp. 201-231. DOI: 10.1007/s11205-019-02106-y

  30. Dhakal S. P. Inclusion and work: addressing the global challenges for youth employment / S. P. Dhakal, J. Connell, J. Burgess // Equality, Diversity and Inclusion. 2018. Vol. 37. No 2. Pp. 110-120.

  31. Quintini G. Over-qualified or under-skilled: a review of existing literature / G. Quintini // OECD Social, Employment and Migration Working Papers. Paris: OECD Publishing, 2011. No 121. Pp. 3-47. DOI: 10.1787/5kg58j9d7b6d-en

  32. Rubery J. Change at work: feminisation, flexibilisation, fragmentation and financialisation / J. Rubery // Employee Relations. October, 2015. No 37 (6). Pp. 633-644. DOI: 10.1108/ER-04-2015-0067

  33. Turek D. Competencies of young people on the labour market — employers’ expectations / D. Turek // E-mentor. 2015. No 3 (60). Pp. 8-16. DOI: 10.15219/em60.1179