Dividend policy and its impact on the capitalization of Russian public joint-stock companies

Tyumen State University Herald. Social, Economic, and Law Research


Release:

2019, Vol. 5. №2

Title: 
Dividend policy and its impact on the capitalization of Russian public joint-stock companies


For citation: Rybka A. O., Boldyreva N. B. 2019. “Dividend policy and its impact on the capitalization of Russian public joint-stock companies”. Tyumen State University Herald. Social, Economic, and Law Research, vol. 5, no 2, pp. 186-204. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7897-2019-5-2-186-204

About the authors:

Alena O. Rybka, Master Student, Institute of Finance and Economics, University of Tyumen; a.ribka@inbox.ru

Natalia B. Boldyreva, Dr. Sci. (Econ.), Professor, Department of Finance, Currency and Credit, Institute of Finance and Economics, University of Tyumen; eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, ResearcherID, naboldyreva@yandex.ru

Abstract:

Dividend payments are one of the indicators of the company’s profitability and its growth prospects. At the same time companies limit their ability to reinvest profits in development by paying dividends.

The article examines the dividend policy of Russian public joint-stock companies, the shares of which are included in the calculation base of the Moscow Exchange Index (IMOEX) from 2007 to 2016. Dividend payout ratio is used as a proxy for dividend policy. Evaluation of the dividend policy of Russian public companies included in the MOEX Russia Index (IMOEX) allowed their ranking according to the dividend/non-dividend company criteria. It was established that the majority of the companies (66.67%) were non-dividend. The share of companies with state participation is 68.8%.

In the analysed period high dividend payments are typical for non-governmental companies, while government sector pays less. The correlation analysis of the relationship between the average annual dividend payout ratio and the average annual market capitalization of Russian joint-stock companies showed the absence of a significant effect of the company’s dividend policy on its market capitalization for 60% of the companies of the MOEX Russia Index. Among them, the share of companies with state participation accounts for 57.14%.

In general, the majority of the largest Russian companies do not consider dividend policy as a key factor of the growth of market capitalization, however, the case of each particular company is unique.

References:

  1. Brealey R., Myers S. 2008. Principles of Corporate Finance. Moscow: Olimp-Biznes. [In Russian]
  2. Zhukov E. F. 2015. Money. Credit. Banks. Securities. Workshop: Textbook for University Students Studying in the Field of Economics and Management. Edited by E. F. Zhukov. 2nd edition, revised. Moscow: YUNITI-DANA. Accessed 15 October 2018. znanium.com/bookread2.php?book=872593 [In Russian]
  3. Moscow Exchange. “MICEX Index IMOEX”. Accessed 15 March 2018. https://www.moex.com/ru/index/IMOEX/constituents/ [In Russian]
  4. Moscow Exchange. “Indices of the public sector stock”. Accessed 25 September 2018. https://www.moex.com/ru/index/publicsector/ [In Russian]
  5. Kovalev V. V. 2006. Introduction to Financial Management. Moscow: Finansy i statistika. [In Russian]
  6. The Central Bank of the Russian Federation. 2014. Corporate Governance Code. Bank of Russia Bulletin, no 40 (1518). Moscow. [In Russian]
  7. Korneyeva A. A. 2013. “The interrelation between company dividend policies and its value”. Ekonomicheskiy zhurnal, no 3 (31), pp. 149-154. [In Russian]
  8. Kudelich M. I., Rykova I. N. 2015. “Improvement of legislative regulation of dividend policy in the state-owned companies”. Financial Journal, no 4, pp. 34-40. [In Russian]
  9. Makarova O. A. 2016. Joint-Stock Companies with State Participation. Corporate Governance Issues: Monograph. Moscow: Yurayt. [In Russian]
  10. Minasov O. Yu. 2001. “Management of market value of the shares”. Digest Finance, no 10 (82). pp. 28-34. Accessed 5 December 2018. https://cyberleninka.ru/article/v/upravlenie-rynochnoy-stoimostyu-aktsiy [In Russian]
  11. Finmarket. “The Ministry of Finance is adamant: all state-owned companies must pay dividends in the amount of 50% of profits from International Financial Reporting Standards”. Accessed 13 November 2018. http://www.finmarket.ru/news/4879155 [In Russian]
  12. RF Government Order of 29 May 2006 No 774-p “On the formation of the position of a shareholder — the Russian Federation in joint-stock companies the shares of which are in federal ownership”. Konsul’tantPlyus. Accessed 25 September 2018. http://www.consultant.ru/document/cons_doc_LAW_196935/ [In Russian]
  13. RF Federal Law of 26 December 1995 No 208-FZ “On joint-stock companies”. Konsul’tantPlyus. Accessed 9 December 2018. http://www.consultant.ru/document/cons_doc_LAW_8743/9f4fbb73c39e25049b6c7c98bbbec1b66f83a9f2/ [In Russian]
  14. RF Federal Law of 29 July 1998 No 135-FZ “On evaluation activity in the Russian Federation”. Konsul’tantPlyus. Accessed 15 October 2018. http://www.consultant.ru/document/cons_doc_LAW_19586/ [In Russian]
  15. RF Government Decree of 15 April 2014 No 327 “On approval of the State Program of the Russian Federation ‘Management of Federal Property’”. Konsul’tantPlyus. Accessed 25 September 2018. http://www.consultant.ru/document/cons_doc_LAW_162192/ [In Russian]
  16. Okrainets T. I., Salpagarov A. N. 2014. “Study on the relationship of dividend payments and the market value enterprise”. RUDN Journal of Economics, no 1, pp. 91-97. [In Russian]
  17. NAUFOR. Russian Stock Market 2017: Events and Facts. Accessed 9 December 2018 http://www.naufor.ru/download/pdf/factbook/ru/RFR2017.pdf [In Russian]
  18. Sevostyanov V. N. 2016. “The influence of the dividend policy of Russian companies on the profitability of their shares on the stock market”. Proceedings of the 5th International Scientific and Practical Conference “Modern innovations: Theoretical and Practical View” (17 March 2016, Moscow), no 3 (5), pp. 37-39. https://moderninnovation.ru/images/PDF/2016/Modern-innovation-3-5.pdf [In Russian]
  19. Fedorova E. A., Lukasevich I. Ya. 2014. “Theories of dividend policy and their development (the Russian market case study)”. Finance and Credit, no 19 (595), pp. 2-8. [In Russian]
  20. Tsentr raskrytiya korporativnoy informatsii “Interfaks”. Accessed 15 March 2018. https://www.e-disclosure.ru/poisk-po-kompaniyam [In Russian]
  21. Informatsionno-analiticheskiy resurs AO “Finam”. “Export of quotes”. Accessed 7 April 2018. https://www.finam.ru/profile/moex-akcii/moscowexchange/export [In Russian]
  22. Brav A., Graham J. R., Harvey C., Michaely R. 2005. “Payout policy in the 21st century”. Journal of Financial Economics, vol. 77, no 3, pp. 483-527. DOI: 10.1016/j.jfineco.2004.07.004
  23. Gkeka  E., Kosmidis K., Simitsis G. 2018. “The value relevance of dividend announcement: an empirical study of the Greek stock market”. International Journal of Business and Economic Sciences Applied Research, March, vol. 11, no 2, pp. 44-50. 
  24. Osobov I. V., Denis D. J. 2008. “Why do firms pay dividends? International evidence on the determinants of dividend policy”. Journal of Financial Economics, July, vol. 89, no 1, pp. 62-82. DOI: 10.1016/j.jfineco.2007.06.006
  25. Spence M. 1974. “Competitive and optimal responses to signals: an analysis of efficiency and distribution”. Journal of Economic Theory, vol. 7, no 3, pp. 296-332. DOI: 10.1016/0022-0531(74)90098-2
  26. Spence M. 1974. Market Signaling: Information Transfer in Hiring and Related Processes. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press.

Дивидендная политика и ее влияние на капитализацию российских публичных акционерных обществ

Вестник ТюмГУ. Социально-экономические и правовые исследования


Выпуск:

2019. Том 5. №2

Название: 
Дивидендная политика и ее влияние на капитализацию российских публичных акционерных обществ


Для цитирования: Рыбка А. О. Дивидендная политика и ее влияние на капитализацию российских публичных акционерных обществ / А. О. Рыбка, Н. Б. Болдырева // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Социально-экономические и правовые исследования. 2019. Том 5. № 2. С. 186-204. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7897-2019-5-2-186-204

Об авторах:

Рыбка Алена Олеговна, магистрант Финансово-экономического института, Тюменский государственный университет; a.ribka@inbox.ru

Болдырева Наталья Брониславовна, доктор экономических наук, профессор кафедры финансов, денежного обращения и кредита, Финансово-экономический институт, Тюменский государственный университет; eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, ResearcherID, naboldyreva@yandex.ru

Аннотация:

Дивидендные выплаты выступают одним из индикаторов прибыльности деятельности компании и перспектив ее роста. Вместе с этим, выплачивая дивиденды, компании ограничивают свои возможности по реинвестированию прибыли в развитие.

В статье исследуется дивидендная политика российских публичных акционерных обществ, акции которых включены в базу расчета индекса Московской биржи (IMOEX), с 2007 по 2016 г. Дивидендная политика, рассматриваемая в качестве компромисса между реинвестированием прибыли и выплатой дивидендов, численно характеризуется коэффициентом дивидендных выплат. Оценка дивидендной политики российских публичных обществ позволила провести их ранжирование по критерию «дивидендные/недивидендные компании». Установлено, что среди компаний индекса МосБиржи подавляющее большинство являются недивидендными (66,67%). В них доля компаний с государственным участием составляет 68,8%.

В анализируемом периоде высокие дивидендные выплаты характерны, как правило, для частных компаний, а не для компаний с государственным участием. Корреляционный анализ взаимосвязи между среднегодовым коэффициентом дивидендных выплат и среднегодовой рыночной капитализацией российских акционерных обществ показал отсутствие значимого влияния дивидендной политики компании на ее рыночную капитализацию для 60% компаний индекса МосБиржи. Среди них доля компаний с государственным участием составляет 57,14%.

В целом в настоящее время большинство крупных российских ПАО не рассматривает дивидендную политику в качестве ключевого фактора роста рыночной капитализации, однако случай каждой конкретной компании уникален.

Список литературы:

  1. Брейли Р. Принципы корпоративных финансов / Р. Брейли, С. Майерс. М.: ЗАО «Олимп-Бизнес», 2008. 1008 с.
  2. Жуков Е. Ф. Деньги. Кредит. Банки. Ценные бумаги. Практикум: учебное пособие для студентов вузов, обучающихся по специальностям экономики и управления / под ред. Е. Ф. Жукова. 2-е изд., перераб. и доп. М.: ЮНИТИ-ДАНА, 2015. 431 с. URL: znanium.com/bookread2.php?book=872593 (дата обращения: 15.10.2018).
  3. Индекс ММВБ IMOEX // Московская биржа: оф. сайт. URL: https://www.moex.com/ru/index/IMOEX/constituents/ (дата обращения: 15.03.2018).
  4. Индексы акций государственного сектора // Московская биржа: оф. сайт. URL: https://www.moex.com/ru/index/publicsector/ (дата обращения: 25.09.2018).
  5. Ковалев В. В. Введение в финансовый менеджмент / В. В. Ковалев. М.: Финансы и статистика, 2006. 768 с.
  6. Кодекс корпоративного управления. Центральный Банк Российской Федерации // Вестник Банка России. М., 2014. № 40 (1518). 65 с.
  7. Корнеева А. А. Взаимосвязь между дивидендной политикой компании и ее стоимостью / А. А. Корнеева, А. А. Гуковская // Экономический журнал. 2013. № 3 (31). С. 149-154.
  8. Куделич М. И. Совершенствование системы правового регулирования дивидендной политки в компаниях с государственным участием / М. И. Куделич, И. Н. Рыкова // Финансовый журнал. 2015. № 4. С. 34-40.
  9. Макарова О. А. Акционерные общества с государственным участием. Проблемы корпоративного управления: монография / О. А. Макарова. М.: Юрайт, 2016. 211 с.
  10. Минасов О. Ю. Управление рыночной стоимостью акций / О. Ю. Минасов // Дайджест-финансы. 2001. № 10 (82). С. 28-34. URL: https://cyberleninka.ru/article/v/upravlenie-rynochnoy-stoimostyu-aktsiy (дата обращения: 05.12.2018).
  11. Минфин непреклонен: все госкомпании должны платить дивиденды в размере 50% прибыли от МСФО // Финмаркет. URL: http://www.finmarket.ru/news/4879155 (дата обращения: 13.11.2018).
  12. О формировании позиции акционера — Российской Федерации в акционерных обществах, акции которых находятся в федеральной собственности: Распоряжение Правительства РФ от 29.05.2006 № 774-р (ред. от 18.05.2017) / Справ.-правовая система «КонсультантПлюс». URL: http://www.consultant.ru/document/cons_doc_LAW_196935/ (дата обращения: 25.09.2018).
  13. Об акционерных обществах: Федеральный закон от 26.12.1995 № 208-ФЗ / Справ.-правовая система «КонсультантПлюс». URL: http://www.consultant.ru/document/cons_doc_LAW_8743/9f4fbb73c39e25049b6c7c98bbbec1b66f83a9f2/ (дата обращения: 09.12.2018).
  14. Об оценочной деятельности в Российской Федерации: Федеральный закон от 29.07.1998 № 135-ФЗ / Справ.-правовая система «КонсультантПлюс». URL: http://www.consultant.ru/document/cons_doc_LAW_19586/ (дата обращения: 15.10.2018).
  15. Об утверждении государственной программы Российской Федерации «Управление федеральным имуществом»: Постановление Правительства РФ от 15.04.2014 № 327 (ред. от 05.06.2018) / Справ.-правовая система «КонсультантПлюс». URL: http://www.consultant.ru/document/cons_doc_LAW_162192/ (дата обращения: 25.09.2018).
  16. Окраинец Т. И. Исследование взаимосвязи дивидендных выплат и рыночной стоимости предприятия / Т. И. Окраинец, А. Н. Салпагаров // Вестник Российского университета дружбы народов. Серия: Экономика. 2014. № 1. С. 91-97. 
  17. Российский фондовый рынок 2017: события и факты / НАУФОР: оф. сайт. URL: http://www.naufor.ru/download/pdf/factbook/ru/RFR2017.pdf (дата обращения: 09.12.2018).
  18. Севостьянов В. Н. Влияние дивидендной политики российских компаний на доходность их акций на фондовом рынке / В. Н. Севостьянов // Современные инновации: материалы V Международной научно-практической конференции «Современные инновации: теоретический и практический взгляд» (г. Москва, 17 марта 2016 г.). 2016. № 3 (5). С. 37-39. URL: https://moderninnovation.ru/images/PDF/2016/Modern-innovation-3-5.pdf
  19. Фёдорова Е. А. Теории дивидендной политики и их развитие на примере российского рынка / Е. А. Фёдорова, И. Я. Лукасевич // Финансы и кредит. 2014. № 19 (595). С. 2-8.
  20. Центр раскрытия корпоративной информации «Интерфакс»: оф. сайт. URL: https://www.e-disclosure.ru/poisk-po-kompaniyam (дата обращения: 15.03.2018).
  21. Экспорт котировок // Информационно-аналитический ресурс АО «Финам»: оф. сайт. URL: https://www.finam.ru/profile/moex-akcii/moscowexchange/export (дата обращения: 07.04.2018).
  22. Brav A. Payout policy in the 21st century / A. Brav, J. R. Graham, C. R. Harvey, R. Michaely // Journal of Financial Economics. 2005. No 77. Рp. 483-527. DOI: 10.1016/j.jfineco.2004.07.004
  23. Gkeka E. The value relevance of dividend announcement: an empirical study of the Greek stock market / E. Gkeka, K. Kosmidis, G. Simitsis // International Journal of Business and Economic Sciences Applied Research. March 2018. Vol. 11. No 2. Pp. 44-50.
  24. Osobov I. V. Why do firms pay dividends? International evidence on the determinants of dividend policy / I. V. Osobov, D. J. Denis // Journal of Financial Economics. July 2008. Vol. 89. Iss. 1. Pр. 62-82. DOI: 10.1016/j.jfineco.2007.06.006
  25. Spence M. Competitive and optimal responses to signals: an analysis of efficiency and distribution / M. Spence // Journal of Economic Theory. 1974. Vol. 7. No 3. Pp. 296-332. DOI: 10.1016/0022-0531(74)90098-2
  26. Spence M. Market Signaling: Information Transfer in Hiring and Related Processes / M. Spence. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1974.