Factors of innovation and technological development of Russian regions

Tyumen State University Herald. Social, Economic, and Law Research


Release:

Vesntik TSU. Economy (#11). 2013

Title: 
Factors of innovation and technological development of Russian regions


About the authors:

Gulnara F. Romashkina, Dr. Sci. (Soc.), Professor, Head of the Department of Mathematical Methods, Information Technologies and Management Systems in Economics, University of Tyumen; g.f.romashkina@utmn.ru

Maria V. Stepanova,
post-graduate student, Institute for Finance and Economics, Tyumen State University

Abstract:

This paper analyzes the conditions for innovation and technological development of Russian regions. In 2009-2011, the innovative development was carried out due to extensive growth, i.e. the growth was stimulated by the costs, but it was not accompanied by increases in revenues from business activities. Therefore, the efficiency of innovation was low, and decreased with increasing innovation costs. According to the data covering the dynamics of Russian regions development (83 regions) for the period from 2009 to 2012 we statistically confirm the assumption that the growth of household consumption and increase in costs on supporting research and development (R & D) did not stimulate innovation and technological activity of Russian enterprises. The analysis comprises the implementation of policies to promote innovation and technological upgrading over the past five years. We have constructed multifaceted models reflecting the dependence of earnings from exports of technologies from economic and technological conditions. It is shown that the activities of the government are aimed at direct stimulation of economic development (the increase in domestic demand, lending money to enterprises, direct support for the growth of innovation costs) and at the competitiveness of Russian technologies do not have a stimulating effect. Innovation and technological development of the regions of the Russian Federation, if the current trends are preserved, does not generate the potential for breakthrough growth, as the model of innovative and technological development of Russian regions turns out to be a costly type. Cluster analysis helped to identify 14 regional groups, which in turn are grouped into 4 clusters according to the type of economic structure.

References:

1. Mau, V. Between modernization and stagnation: Economic Policy in 2012. Voprosy jekonomiki — The Issues of Economics. 2013. № 2. Pp. 4-23. (in Russian).

2. Gohberg, L.M., Ivanova, N.I., Klevzhic, D.V., Mihajlov, N.V., Rudashevskij, V.D. Innovacionnoe razvitie — osnova modernizacii jekonomiki Rossii: Nacional'nyj doklad [Innovative development as the basis of modernization of Russian economy: National report]. Moscow, 2008. (in Russian).

3. More information see on the official website of expert groups working on the «Strategy-2020», the materials of expert group № 5: «The transition from stimulating innovation to growth based on innovations» (Leaders – L.M. Hochberg, I.R. Agamirzyan) / http://2020strategy.ru/g5.

4. «Innovative Russia — 2020». Section I, P. 8. / http://www.economy.gov.ru/minec/activity/sections/innovations/doc20101231_016.

5. Bashkatova, A. Russian innovation model fails. China develops its own technology based on growing export. Nezavisimaja gazeta. Jekonomika — The Independent newspaper. Economics. September 27. 2013. (in Russian).

6. Regiony Rossii. Social'no-jekonomicheskie pokazateli. 2012: Stat. sb. [Regions of Russia. Socio-economic indexes. 2012: statistical data volume] / Federal State Statistics Service of the Russian Federation. Moscow, 2012. URL: http://www.gks.ru/bgd/regl/ b12_14p/Main.htm.

7. Federal State Statistics Service of the Russian Federation: GRP on RF subjects (Updated 22.03.2013), all data are presented on the site http://www.gks.ru/wps/wcm/ connect/rosstat_main/rosstat/ru/statistics/accounts. Regions of Russia. Socio-economic indexes. 2012: statistical data volume / Federal State Statistics Service of the Russian Federation. M., 2012. 990 p. (in Russian).

Вестник ТюмГУ. Социально-экономические и правовые исследования


Выпуск:

Вестник ТюмГУ. Экономика (№11). 2013

Название: 
Факторы инновационно-технологического развития регионов России


Об авторах:

Ромашкина Гульнара Фатыховна, доктор социологических наук, профессор, заведующая кафедрой математических методов, информационных технологий и систем управления в экономике, Тюменский государственный университет; g.f.romashkina@utmn.ru

Степанова М.В. ,
аспирант Финансово-экономического института Тюменского государственного университета

Аннотация:

Работа посвящена анализу условий инновационно-технологического развития регионов России. В 2009-2011 гг. инновационное развитие осуществлялось за счет экстенсивного роста, то есть рост стимулировался затратами, но не сопровождался ростом доходов от предпринимательской деятельности. Поэтому эффективность инноваций была низкой и снижалась по мере роста затрат на инновации. На данных, охватывающих динамику развития регионов РФ (83 региона) за период 2009-2012 гг. статистически подтверждается предположение о том, что рост потребления населения и наращивание затрат на поддержку НИОКР не стимулировали инновационно-технологическую активность российских предприятий. Проведен анализ реализации политики стимулирования инновационного роста и технологической модернизации на протяжении последнего пятилетия. Построены многофакторные модели зависимости выручки от экспорта технологий от экономических и технологических условий. Показано, что мероприятия, проводимые правительством и направленные на прямое стимулирование экономического развития (повышение внутреннего спроса, кредитование предприятий, прямая поддержка роста затрат на инновации), на конкурентоспособность российских технологий оказывают далеко не стимулирующее действие. Инновационно-технологическое развитие регионов РФ, при сохранении сложившихся тенденций, не формирует потенциала прорывного роста, поскольку модель инновационно-технологического развития регионов РФ отражает затратный тип. На основе кластерного анализа выделены 14 групп регионов, которые, в свою очередь, объединяются в 4 кластера по типу экономического уклада.

Список литературы:

1. Мау В. Между модернизацией и застоем: экономическая политика 2012 года // Вопросы экономики. 2013. № 2. С. 4-23.

2. Гохберг л.М., Иванова Н.И., Клевжиц Д.В., Михайлов Н.В., Рудашевский В.Д. Инновационное развитие — основа модернизации экономики России: Национальный доклад. М.: ИМЭМО РАН, ГУ-ВШЭ, 2008.

3. Подробнее см. официальный информационный сайт экспертных групп по работе над «Стратегией-2020», материалы экспертной группы №5: «Переход от стимулирования инноваций к росту на их основе» (Руководители — л.М. Гохберг, И.Р. Агамирзян). URL: http://2020strategy.ru/g5.

4. «Инновационная Россия — 2020». Раздел I, стр. 8. URL: http://www.economy.gov.ru/minec/activity/sections/innovations/doc20101231_016

5. Башкатова А. Российская модель инноваций терпит крах. Китай развивает собственные технологии на базе растущего экспорта // Независимая газета. Экономика. 27 сентября 2013.

6. Регионы России. Социально-экономические показатели. 2012: Стат. сб. / Росстат. М., 2012. URL: http://www.gks.ru/bgd/regl/b12_14p/Main.htm.

7. Федеральная служба государственной статистики РФ: ВРП по субъектам РФ (обновление 22.03.2013), все данные представлены на сайте http://www.gks.ru/wps/wcm/connect/rosstat_main/rosstat/ru/statistics/accounts. Регионы России. Социально-экономические показатели. 2012: Стат. сб. / Росстат. М., 2012. 990 с.