The problem of the combined use of filtration theory and machine learning elements for solving the inverse problem of restoring the hydraulic conductivity of an oil field

Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy


Release:

2021. Vol. 7. № 2 (26)

Title: 
The problem of the combined use of filtration theory and machine learning elements for solving the inverse problem of restoring the hydraulic conductivity of an oil field


For citation: Kosyakov V. P., Legostaev D. Yu., Musakaev E. N. 2021. “The problem of the combined use of filtration theory and machine learning elements for solving the inverse problem of restoring the hydraulic conductivity of an oil field”. Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy, vol. 7, no. 2 (26), pp. 113-129. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2021-7-2-113-129

About the authors:

Vitaly P. Kosyakov, Cand. Sci. (Phys.-Math.), Senior Researcher, Tyumen Branch of the Khristianovich Institute of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics of the Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences; Associate Professor, Department of Oil and Gas Flow Metering, University of Tyumen; eLibrary AuthorID, Web of Science ResearcherID; lik.24@yandex.ru; ORCID: 0000-0002-2297-408X

Dmitry Yu. Legostaev, Junior Researcher, Tyumen Branch of the Khristianovich Institute of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics of the Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences; Senior Lecturer, Department of Applied and Technical Physics, University of Tyumen; eLibrary AuthorID, legostaevdy@yandex.ru; ORCID: 0000-0001-6371-7031

Emil N. Musakaev, Junior Researcher, Tyumen Branch of the Khristianovich Institute of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics of the Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences; musakaev91@gmail.com

Abstract:

This article presents the methodology involving the combined use of machine learning elements and a physically meaningful filtration model. The authors propose using a network of radial basis functions for solving the problem of restoring hydraulic conductivity in the interwell space for an oil field. The advantage of the proposed approach in comparison with classical interpolation methods as applied to the problems of reconstructing the filtration-capacitive properties of the interwell space is shown. The paper considers an algorithm for the interaction of machine learning methods, a filtration model, a mechanism for separating input data, a form of a general objective function, which includes physical and expert constraints. The research was carried out on the example of a symmetrical element of an oil field. The proposed procedure for finding a solution includes solving a direct and an adjoint problem.

References:

  1. Basniev K. S., Dmitriev N. M., Kanevskaya R. D., Maksimov V. M. 2006. Underground Hydromechanics. Moscow-Izhevsk: Institute of Computer Research. 488 pp. [In Russian]

  2. Zakirov I. S. 2006. Development of the Theory and Practice of Oil Field Development. Moscow, Izhevsk: Institute of Computer Technologies. 356 pp. [In Russian]

  3. Rozhenko A. I., 2018. Comparison of Radial Basis Functions. Sibirskiy zhurnal vychislitelnoy matematiki, vol. 21, no. 3, pp. 273-292. DOI: 10.15372/SJNM20180304 [In Russian]

  4. Broomhead D. H., Lowe D. 1988. “Multivariable functional interpolation and adaptive networks”. Complex Systems: Journal, vol. 2, pp. 321-355.

  5. Ertekin T., Sun Q. 2019. “Artificial intelligence applications in reservoir engineering: a status check”. Energies, vol. 12, art. 2897.

  6. Glorot X., Bordes A., Bengio Y. 2011. “Deep sparse rectifier neural networks”. Proceedings of the 14th International Conference on Artificial Intelligence and Statistics, vol. 15, pp. 315-323.

  7. Kosyakov V. P. 2020. “Structural and parametric identification of an aquifer model for an oil reservoir”. Lobachevskii Journal of Mathematics, vol. 41, pp. 1242-1247. DOI: 10.1134/S1995080220070239

  8. Misbahuddin M. 2020. “Estimating Petrophysical properties of shale rock using conventional neural networks CNN”. Society of Petroleum Engineers. DOI: 10.2118/204272-STU

  9. Musakaev E. N., Rodionov S. P., Legostaev D. Yu., Kosyakov V. P. 2009. “Parameter identification for sector filtration model of an oil reservoir with complex structure”. AIP Conference Proceedings, vol. 2125, art. 030113. DOI: 10.1063/1.5117495

  10. Otchere D. A., Arbi Ganat T. O., Gholami R., Ridha S. 2021. “Application of supervised machine learning paradigms in the prediction of petroleum reservoir properties: Comparative analysis of ANN and SVM models”. Journal of Petroleum Science and Engineering, vol. 200, art. 108182. DOI: 10.1016/j.petrol.2020.108182

Задача совместного использования теории фильтрации и элементов машинного обучения для решения обратной задачи восстановления гидропроводности нефтяного месторождения

Вестник ТюмГУ. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика.


Выпуск:

2021. Том 7. № 2 (26)

Название: 
Задача совместного использования теории фильтрации и элементов машинного обучения для решения обратной задачи восстановления гидропроводности нефтяного месторождения


Для цитирования: Косяков В. П. Задача совместного использования теории фильтрации и элементов машинного обучения для решения обратной задачи восстановления гидропроводности нефтяного месторождения / В. П. Косяков, Д. Ю. Легостаев, Э. Н. Мусакаев // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика. 2021. Том 7. № 2 (26). С. 113-129. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2021-7-2-113-129

Об авторах:

Косяков Виталий Петрович, кандидат физико-математических наук, старший научный сотрудник, Тюменский филиал Института теоретической и прикладной механики им. С.А. Христиановича СО РАН, доцент кафедры расходометрии нефти и газа, Тюменский государственный университет; eLibrary AuthorID, Web of Science ResearcherIDlik.24@yandex.ru; ORCID: 0000-0002-2297-408X

Легостаев Дмитрий Юрьевич, младший научный сотрудник Тюменского филиала Института теоретической и прикладной механики им. С. А. Христиановича CО РАН, старший преподаватель кафедры прикладной и технической физики, Тюменский государственный университет; eLibrary AuthorID, legostaevdy@yandex.ru; ORCID: 0000-0001-6371-7031

Мусакаев Эмиль Наильевич, младший научный сотрудник Тюменского филиала Института теоретической и прикладной механики им. С. А. Христиановича CО РАН; musakaev91@gmail.com

Аннотация:

Настоящая работа посвящена методике, предполагающей совместное использование элементов машинного обучения и физически содержательной фильтрационной модели. Предложено использование сети радиальных базисных функций для решения задачи восстановления гидропроводности в межскважинном пространстве для нефтяного месторождения. Показано преимущество предлагаемого подхода по сравнению с классическими методами интерполяции применительно к задачам восстановления фильтрационно-емкостных свойств межскважинного пространства. В работе рассмотрен алгоритм взаимодействия методов машинного обучения, фильтрационной модели, механизм разделения входных данных, вид общей целевой функции, включающей в себя физические и экспертные ограничения. Исследования проводились на примере симметричного элемента нефтяного месторождения. Предлагаемая процедура поиска решения включает в себя решение прямой и сопряженной задачи.

Список литературы:

  1. Басниев К. С. Подземная гидромеханика / К. С. Басниев, Н. М. Дмитриев, Р. Д. Каневская, В. М. Максимов // М.-Ижевск: Ин-т компьютерных исследований, 2006. 488 с.

  2. Закиров И. С. Развитие теории и практики разработки нефтяных месторождений / И. С. Закиров. М.-Ижевск: Ин-т компьютерных технологий, 2006. 356 с.

  3. Роженко А. И. Сравнение радиальных базисных функций / А. И. Роженко // Сибирский журнал вычислительной математики. 2018. Том 21. № 3. С. 273-292. DOI: 10.15372/SJNM20180304

  4. Broomhead D. H. Multivariable Functional Interpolation and Adaptive Networks / D. H. Broomhead, D. Lowe // Complex Systems: Journal. 1988. Vol. 2. No. 3. Pp. 321‑355.

  5. Ertekin T. Artificial Intelligence Applications in Reservoir Engineering: A Status Check / T. Ertekin, Q. Sun // Energies. 2019. Vol. 12. Art. 2897. DOI: 10.3390/en12152897

  6. Glorot X. Deep sparse rectifier neural networks / X. Glorot, A. Bordes, Y. Bengio // The 14th International Conference on Artificial Intelligence and Statistics. 2011. Vol. 15. Pp. 315-323.

  7. Kosyakov V. P. Structural and Parametric Identification of an Aquifer Model for an Oil Reservoir / V. P. Kosyakov // Lobachevskii Journal of Mathematics. 2020. Vol. 41. No. 7. Pp. 1242-1247. DOI: 10.1134/S1995080220070239

  8. Misbahuddin M. Estimating Petrophysical Properties of Shale Rock Using Conventional Neural Networks CNN. / M. Misbahuddin // Society of Petroleum Engineers Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition. 2020. DOI: 10.2118/204272-STU

  9. Musakaev E. N. Parameter identification for sector filtration model of an oil reservoir with complex structure / E. N. Musakaev, S. P. Rodionov, D. Yu. Legostaev, V. P. Kosyakov // AIP Conference Proceedings. 2019. Vol. 2125. Art. 030113. DOI: 10.1063/1.5117495

  10. Otchere D. A. Application of supervised machine learning paradigms in the prediction of petroleum reservoir properties: Comparative analysis of ANN and SVM models / D. A. Otchere, T. O. Arbi Ganat, R. Gholami, S. Ridha // Journal of Petroleum Science and Engineering. 2021. Vol. 200. Art. 108182. DOI: 10.1016/j.petrol.2020.108182