The analysis of thermal fields at the primary stage of the steam-assisted gravity drainage process

Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy


Release:

2021. Vol. 7. № 2 (26)

Title: 
The analysis of thermal fields at the primary stage of the steam-assisted gravity drainage process


For citation: Gilmanov A. Ya., Fedorov K. M., Shevelev A. P. 2021. “The analysis of thermal fields at the primary stage of the steam-assisted gravity drainage process”. Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy, vol. 7, no. 2 (26), pp. 27-42. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2021-7-2-27-42

About the authors:

Alexander Ya. Gilmanov, Second Category Engineer, Department of Modeling of Physical Processes and Systems, Institute of Physics and Technology, University of Tyumen; a.y.gilmanov@utmn.ru

Konstantin M. Fedorov, Dr. Sci. (Phys.-Math.), Professor, Scientific Advisor of the Institute of Physics and Technology, University of Tyumen; k.m.fedorov@utmn.ru

Alexander P. Shevelev, Cand. Sci. (Phys.-Math.), Professor, Department of Modeling of Physical Processes and Systems, Institute of Physics and Technology, University of Tyumen; eLibrary AuthorID, alexandershevelev@mail.ru

Abstract:

This article analyzes the temperature distribution in a producer well at the primary stage of the steam-assisted gravity drainage process. The increase in share of hard-to-recover reserves requires using steam-assisted gravity drainage (SAGD). Its successful application, in turn, depends on warming up the inter-well zone, which demands steam circulation in both wells at the primary stage of the process. The duration of this stage affects the transition to oil production and the profitability of the process, which emphasizes the importance of analyzing thermal fields at this stage to assess its duration. The existing research does not allow estimating the temperature in the producer, using the correct formulation of the problem. This paper presents the temperature distribution in a producer for SAGD for classical and chess well patterns for the first time. The aim of the work is to choose a development system for the minimum duration of primary stage of SAGD. For this purpose, the fundamental solution of the non-stationary heat equation for a continuous stationary point source in an unbounded medium is used. The estimation of temperature, at which oil becomes mobile, allows determining the primary stage duration. The authors compare the classical and chess well patterns. In addition, they have obtained the temperature distribution in producer. The results show that classical well pattern provides faster heating of inter-well zone. It is determined that the closest injection well has the greatest influence on the temperature in the producing well.

References:

  1. Gimatudinov Sh. K. 1971. Physics of Oil and Gas Reservoir. 2nd edition, revised. Moscow: Nedra. 312 pp. [In Russian]

  2. Kislitsyn A. A. 2002. The Foundations of Thermal Physics: Lectures and Seminars. Tyumen: UTMN Publishing House. 152 pp. [In Russian]

  3. Lykov A. V. 1978. Heat and Mass Transfer. 2nd edition, revised. Moscow: Energiya. 480 pp. [In Russian]

  4. Xi C., Yang Z., Du X., Zhou Y., Shi L., Sang L., Li X., Ma D. 2019. “Three typical SAGD horizontal producer temperature modes and enhanced measures in heterogeneous super heavy oil reservoir — a case study in FC project of Xinjiang oilfield”. Society of Petroleum Engineers, conference paper SPE-196762-RU. 14 pp. DOI: 10.2118/196762-RU [In Russian]

  5. Chekalyuk E. B. 1965. Thermodynamics of Oil Reservoir. Moscow: Nedra. 239 pp. [In Russian]

  6. Heidari M., Hejazi S. H., Farouq Ali S. M. 2017. “Steam-assisted gravity-drainage performance with temperature-dependent properties — a semianalytical approach”. SPE Journal, vol. 22, no 3, pp. 902-911. DOI: 10.2118/175036-PA

  7. Irani M., Ghannadi S. 2019. “On temperature-falloff interpretation in the circulation phase of the steam-assisted-gravity-drainage process”. SPE Journal, vol. 24, no 3, pp. 1002-1015. DOI: 10.2118/189740-PA

  8. Liu H., Cheng L., Li C., Xiong H., Xiao P. 2017. “An investigation into temperature distribution and heat loss rate within the steam chamber in expanding-solvent SAGD process”. Society of Petroleum Engineers, conference paper SPE-184963-MS. DOI: 10.2118/184963-MS

  9. MacPhail W., Kirkpatrick J., Banack B., Rapati B., Asfouri A. A. 2016. “SAGD production observations using fiber optic distributed acoustic and temperature sensing: “SAGD DAS — Listening to wells to improve understanding of inflow””. Society of Petroleum Engineers, conference paper SPE-180726-MS. DOI: 10.2118/180726-MS

  10. Nascimento C., Demirdal B., Gauthier J. 2019. “Evaluating temperature rate near the wellbore considering slow warm-up case for a SAGD producer well with different completion configurations using dynamic flow simulations”. Society of Petroleum Engineers, conference paper SPE-198699-MS. DOI: 10.2118/198699-MS

  11. Sun F., Yao Y., Li G., Qu S., Zhang S., Shi Y., Xu Z., Li X. 2018. “Effect of pressure and temperature of steam in parallel vertical injection wells on productivity of a horizontal well during the SAGD process: a numerical case study”. Society of Petroleum Engineers, conference paper SPE-193659-MS. DOI: 10.2118/193659-MS

  12. Terentiyev A. A., Roschin P. V., Nikitin A. V., Kozhin V. N., Pchela K. V., Kireyev I. V., Demin S. V., Litvin A. T., Struchkov I. A. 2020. “Wait or get the oil: how SAGD technology implementation options will vary future production”. Society of Petroleum Engineers, conference paper SPE-201819-MS. DOI: 10.2118/201819-MS

  13. Wang Y., Ferrise A., Huang Y. 2018. “Study of temperature and pressure fall-off during shut-in and slow-down for SAGD wells with top water”. Society of Petroleum Engineers, conference paper SPE-189720-MS. DOI: 10.2118/189720-MS

  14. Zargar Z., Farouq Ali S. M. 2018. “Effect of confinement and well interference on SAGD performance — an analytical assessment”. Society of Petroleum Engineers, conference paper SPE-189715-MS. DOI: 10.2118/189715-MS

Анализ тепловых полей на первичной стадии процесса парогравитационного дренажа

Вестник ТюмГУ. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика.


Выпуск:

2021. Том 7. № 2 (26)

Название: 
Анализ тепловых полей на первичной стадии процесса парогравитационного дренажа


Для цитирования: Гильманов А. Я. Анализ тепловых полей на первичной стадии процесса парогравитационного дренажа / А. Я. Гильманов, К. М. Федоров, А. П. Шевелёв // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика. 2021. Том 7. № 2 (26). С. 27-42. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2021-7-2-27-42

Об авторах:

Гильманов Александр Янович, инженер 2 категории, кафедра моделирования физических процессов и систем, Физико-технический институт, Тюменский государственный университет; a.y.gilmanov@utmn.ru

Федоров Константин Михайлович, доктор физико-математических наук, профессор, научный руководитель Физико-технического института, Тюменский государственный университет; k.m.fedorov@utmn.ru

Шевелёв Александр Павлович, кандидат физико-математических наук, доцент, профессор кафедры моделирования физических процессов и систем, Физико-технический институт, Тюменский государственный университет; eLibrary AuthorID, alexandershevelev@mail.ru

Аннотация:

Статья посвящена анализу распределения температуры в добывающей скважине на первичной стадии процесса парогравитационного дренажа. В связи с увеличением доли трудноизвлекаемых запасов необходимо применять тепловые методы увеличения нефтеотдачи, в том числе метод парогравитационного дренажа. Для успешного применения этого метода необходимо установить гидродинамическую связь между нагнетательной и добывающей скважинами и прогреть межскважинную зону, для чего проводится циркуляция пара в обеих скважинах на первичной стадии процесса. Длительность этой стадии влияет на переход к добыче нефти и рентабельность процесса, поэтому анализ тепловых полей на этой стадии для оценки ее длительности является актуальной задачей. Существующие работы не позволяют провести оценку температуры в добывающей скважине с учетом корректной постановки задачи и рассмотрения теплового поля между нагнетательной и добывающей скважинами. В данной статье впервые получено распределение температуры в добывающей скважине для парогравитационного дренажа для классической и шахматной схем расположения скважин с помощью фундаментального решения уравнения теплопроводности. Цель работы — выбор системы разработки для минимальной длительности первичной стадии процесса парогравитационного дренажа с помощью анализа тепловых полей. Для этого для пары скважин используется фундаментальное решение нестационарного уравнения теплопроводности для непрерывного неподвижного точечного источника в неограниченной среде. Оценка температуры, при которой нефть становится подвижной, позволяет определить длительность первичной стадии процесса парогравитационного дренажа. Проводится сравнение классической и шахматной схем расположения скважин, определяется влияние соседних нагнетательных скважин на температуру в добывающей скважине с помощью фундаментального решения уравнения теплопроводности. Получено распределение температуры в добывающей скважине. Установлено, что классическая схема расположения скважин обеспечивает более быстрый прогрев межскважинной зоны. Определено, что наибольшее влияние на температуру в добывающей скважине оказывает ближайшая нагнетательная скважина.

Список литературы:

  1. Гиматудинов Ш. К. Физика нефтяного и газового пласта / Ш. К. Гиматудинов. М.: Недра, 1971. 312 с.

  2. Кислицын А. А. Основы теплофизики: лекции и семинары / А. А. Кислицын. Тюмень: Изд-во Тюменского гос. ун-та, 2002. 152 с.

  3. Лыков А. В. Тепломассообмен / А. В. Лыков. М.: Энергия, 1978. 480 с.

  4. Си Ч. Исследование трех моделей разработки неоднородных залежей сверхвязкой нефти при помощи технологии SAGD и мер по их совершенствованию / Ч. Си, Ч. Ян, С. Ду, Ю. Чжоу, Л. Ши, Л. Сань, С. Ли, Д. Ма // Society of Petroleum Engineers. 2019. Статья с конференции № SPE-196762-RU. 14 с. DOI: 10.2118/196762-RU

  5. Чекалюк Э. Б. Термодинамика нефтяного пласта / Э. Б. Чекалюк. М.: Недра, 1965. 239 с.

  6. Heidari M. Steam-assisted gravity-drainage performance with temperature-dependent properties — a semianalytical approach / M. Heidari, S. H. Hejazi, S. M. Farouq Ali // SPE Journal. 2017. Vol. 22. No. 3. Pp. 902-911. DOI: 10.2118/175036-PA

  7. Irani M. On temperature-falloff interpretation in the circulation phase of the steam-assisted-gravity-drainage process / M. Irani, S. Ghannadi // SPE Journal. 2019. Vol. 24. No. 3. Pp. 1002-1015. DOI: 10.2118/189740-PA

  8. Liu H. An investigation into temperature distribution and heat loss rate within the steam chamber in expanding-solvent SAGD process / H. Liu, L. Cheng, C. Li, H. Xiong, P. Xiao // Society of Petroleum Engineers. 2017. Conference paper No. SPE-184963-MS. 21 pp. DOI: 10.2118/184963-MS

  9. MacPhail W. SAGD production observations using fiber optic distributed acoustic and temperature sensing: “SAGD DAS — Listening to wells to improve understanding of inflow” / W. MacPhail, J. Kirkpatrick, B. Banack, B. Rapati, A. A. Asfouri // Society of Petroleum Engineers. 2016. Conference paper No. SPE-180726-MS. 20 pp. DOI: 10.2118/180726-MS

  10. Nascimento C. Evaluating temperature rate near the wellbore considering slow warm-up case for a SAGD producer well with different completion configurations using dynamic flow simulations / C. Nascimento, B. Demirdal, J. Gauthier // Society of Petroleum Engineers. 2019. Conference paper No. SPE-198699-MS. 15 pp. DOI: 10.2118/198699-MS

  11. Sun F. Effect of pressure and temperature of steam in parallel vertical injection wells on productivity of a horizontal well during the SAGD process: a numerical case study / F. Sun, Y. Yao, G. Li, S. Qu, S. Zhang, Y. Shi, Z. Xu, X. Li // Society of Petroleum Engineers. 2018. Conference paper No. SPE-193659-MS. 11 pp. DOI: 10.2118/193659-MS

  12. Terentiyev A. A. Wait or get the oil: how SAGD technology implementation options will vary future production / A. A. Terentiyev, P. V. Roschin, A. V. Nikitin, V. N. Kozhin, K. V. Pchela, I. V. Kireyev, S. V. Demin, A. T. Litvin, I. A. Struchkov // Society of Petroleum Engineers. 2020. Conference paper No. SPE-201819-MS. 14 pp. DOI: 10.2118/201819-MS

  13. Wang Y. Study of temperature and pressure fall-off during shut-in and slow-down for SAGD wells with top water / Y. Wang, A. Ferrise, Y. Huang // Society of Petroleum Engineers. 2018. Conference paper No. SPE-189720-MS. 10 pp. DOI: 10.2118/189720-MS

  14. Zargar Z. Effect of confinement and well interference on SAGD performance — an analytical assessment / Z. Zargar, S. M. Farouq Ali // Society of Petroleum Engineers. 2018. Conference paper No. SPE-189715-MS. 26 pp. DOI: 10.2118/189715-MS