Development of a calorimetric method for measuring the content of unfrozen water in soil at a negative temperature

Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy


Release:

2020. Vol. 6. № 1 (21)

Title: 
Development of a calorimetric method for measuring the content of unfrozen water in soil at a negative temperature


For citation: Grigoriev B. V. 2020. “Development of a calorimetric method for measuring the content of unfrozen water in soil at a negative temperature”. Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy, vol. 6, no. 1 (21), pp. 87-99. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2020-6-1-87-99

About the author:

Boris V. Grigoriev, Cand. Sci. (Tech.), Head of the Department of Applied and Technical Physics, Institute of Physics and Technology, University of Tyumen; b.v.grigorev@utmn.ru

Abstract:

The paper considers the task of determining the content of unfrozen water in frozen dispersed soils. It is known that the phase transformation of pore water into a solid phase at the freezing point is subject only to free water, which is not influenced by long-range electromolecular forces between the active centers of the surface of soil particles and water molecules. Distortion of the structure of pore water, called bound, leads to a decrease in its freezing temperature, and its amount is functionally dependent on the dispersion of the soil. The presence of liquid water in an array of frozen soil leads to a decrease in its strength properties, being a determining factor at near-zero temperatures. Therefore, along with other properties of frozen soil, the content of unfrozen water is an important criterion for calculating strength, thermophysical, and mass transfer processes. To quantify the content of unfrozen water, as well as determine the dependence of humidity on temperature, the calorimetric method is usually used, with its inherent disadvantages.

In the work, to solve this problem, a method was developed based on the principles of calorimetry, but fundamentally different in the way of measuring the energy of phase transformations. The essence of the method is to continuously fix the energy released from the frozen sample to a predetermined temperature using a heat flux density sensor, and to continuously measure the soil’s own temperature. The standard calorimetric test procedure was adapted to process the results of a new experimental setup. The advantages of the new method for measuring the content of unfrozen water over the traditional calorimetric method are substantiated, first of all, this is a smaller number of experiments to obtain one experimental point. The applicability of the installation for studying equilibrium and nonequilibrium freezing processes of wet soil, including those with a high salt content in pore water, is shown. Comparisons of the results obtained by the calorimetric and proposed methods for the same soil showed sufficient convergence of the data, taking into account the difficulty of reproducing the experiments.

References:

  1. Danielyan Yu. S. 1997. “Studies of nonequilibrium heat and mass transfer in soils with phase transitions of moisture as applied to the design of arrangement of oil fields”. Dr. Sci. (Phys.-Math.) diss. Tyumen. 368 pp. [In Russian]

  2. Grechishcheva S. E., Ershova E. D. (eds.). 1983. New methods for studying the composition, structure and properties of frozen soils. Moscow: Nedra. 139 pp. [In Russian]

  3. Guidance on the determination of the physical, thermophysical and mechanical characteristics of frozen soils. 1973. Moscow: Stroyizdat; Proizvodstvennyy i nauchno-issledovatelskiy institut po inzhenernym izyskaniyam v stroitelstve (PNIIIS) Gosstroya SSSR, Nauchno-issledovatelskiy institut stroitelnogo profilya Gosstroya SSSR. 191 pp. [In Russian]

  4. Fadeeva V. S. (ed.). 1962. Modern methods of research of building materials. Moscow: Gos. izd-vo lit. po stroit., arhitekture i stroit. Materialam. 239 pp. [In Russian]

  5. Grigoriev B. V., Shabarov A. B. 2013. Installation for the determination of unfrozen water in frozen soils: RF patent 139913: MPK G01N33\24. No. 2012149324/15; applied 19 November 2012; published 27 April 2014. Bulletin no. 12. [In Russian]

  6. Grigoriev B. V., Shabarov A. B. Installation for the determination of unfrozen water in frozen soils and pore materials: RF patent 141361: MPK G01N33/24. No. 2013157892/15; applied 25 December 2013; published 27 May 2014. Bulletin no. 15. [In Russian]

Развитие калориметрического метода измерения содержания незамерзшей воды в грунте при отрицательной температуре

Вестник ТюмГУ. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика.


Выпуск:

2020. Том 6. № 1 (21)

Название: 
Развитие калориметрического метода измерения содержания незамерзшей воды в грунте при отрицательной температуре


Для цитирования: Григорьев Б. В. Развитие калориметрического метода измерения содержания незамерзшей воды в грунте при отрицательной температуре / Б. В. Григорьев // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика. 2020. Том 6. № 1 (21). С. 87-99. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2020-6-1-87-99

Об авторе:

Григорьев Борис Владимирович, кандидат технических наук, заведующий кафедрой прикладной и технической физики, Физико-технический институт, Тюменский государственный университет; b.v.grigorev@utmn.ru

Аннотация:

В работе рассмотрена задача определения содержания незамерзшей воды в мерзлых дисперсных грунтах. Известно, что фазовому превращению поровой воды в твердую фазу при температуре начала замерзания подвержена только свободная вода, которая не находится под влиянием дальнодействующих электромолекулярных сил между активными центрами поверхности частиц грунта и молекулами воды. Искажение структуры поровой воды, называемой связанной, приводит к снижению температуры ее замерзания, а ее количество находится в функциональной зависимости от дисперсности грунта. Жидкая вода в массиве мерзлого грунта приводит к снижению его прочностных свойств, и ее наличие является определяющим при околонулевых температурах. Поэтому содержание незамерзшей воды — важный критерий для расчета прочностных, теплофизических и массообменных процессов наряду с другими свойствами мерзлого грунта. Для количественной оценки содержания незамерзшей воды, а также определения зависимости влажности от температуры обычно применяется калориметрический метод, имеющий, впрочем, свои недостатками.

Для решения этой задачи в данной статье предложен метод на основе принципов калориметрии, но кардинально отличный по способу измерения энергии фазовых превращений. В основе метода лежит измерение количества энергии, выделяющейся из замораживаемого образца, при помощи датчика плотности теплового потока с одновременным измерением собственной температуры грунта. Стандартная методика калориметрических испытаний была адаптирована для обработки результатов новой экспериментальной установки. Обоснованы преимущества нового метода измерения содержания незамерзшей воды перед традиционным калориметрическим методом. В первую очередь к ним относится меньшее число экспериментов для получения одной экспериментальной точки. Показана применимость установки для изучения равновесных и неравновесных процессов замерзания влажного грунта, в том числе с высоким содержанием солей в поровой воде. Проведенные сравнения результатов, полученных калориметрическим и предложенным методом для одного и того же грунта, показали достаточную сходимость данных с учетом сложности воспроизведения экспериментов.

Список литературы:

  1. Даниэлян Ю. С. Исследования неравновесного тепломассопереноса в грунтах с фазовыми переходами влаги применительно к проектированию обустройства нефтяных месторождений: дис. … д-ра физ.-мат. наук / Ю. С. Даниэлян. Тюмень, 1997. 368 с.

  2. Новые методы исследования состава, строения и свойств мерзлых грунтов / под ред. С. Е. Гречищева, Э. Д. Ершова. М.: Недра, 1983. 139 с.

  3. Руководство по определению физических, теплофизических и механических характеристик мерзлых грунтов / ПНИИИС Госстроя СССР, НИИОПС Госстроя СССР. М.: Стройиздат, 1973. 191 с.

  4. Современные методы исследования строительных материалов / под ред. В. С. Фадеевой. М.: Гос. изд-во лит. по строит., архитектуре и строит. материалам, 1962. 239 с.

  5. Установка для определения незамерзшей воды в мерзлых грунтах: пат. 139913 Рос. Федерация: МПК G01N33/24 / А. Б. Шабаров, Б. В. Григорьев. № 2012149324/15; заявл. 19.11.2012; опубл. 27.04.2014, Бюл. № 12.

  6. Установка для определения незамерзшей воды в мерзлых грунтах и пористых материалах: пат. 141361 Рос. Федерация: МПК G01N33/24 / Б. В. Григорьев, А. Б. Шабаров. № 2013157892/15; заявл. 25.12.2013; опубл. 27.05.2014, Бюл. № 15.