Calculation and experimental method for determining the filtration parameters of the mixture “oil — aqueous solution of surfactants”

Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy


Release:

2020. Vol. 6. № 1 (21)

Title: 
Calculation and experimental method for determining the filtration parameters of the mixture “oil — aqueous solution of surfactants”


For citation: Kuzina O.A., Shabarov A.B. 2020. “Calculation and experimental method for determining the filtration parameters of the mixture ‘oil — aqueous solution of surfactants’”. Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy, vol. 6, no. 1 (21), pp. 41-64. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2020-6-1-41-64

About the authors:

Olga A. Kuzina, Assistant Professor, Department of Applied and Technical Physics, Institute of Physics and Technology, University of Tyumen; o.a.kuzina@utmn.ru

Aleksandr B. Shabarov, Dr. Sci. (Tech.), Professor, Department of Applied and Technical Physics, Institute of Physics and Technology, University of Tyumen; eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, ResearcherID, ScopusID, kaf_mms@utmn.ru

Abstract:

The article describes a physical and mathematical cluster precise model and a method for calculating the flow of a two-phase mixture “oil — aqueous solution of surface-active substances” in the pore space of rocks. This method allows us to predict the effect of the type of aqueous solution of surface-active substances and the temperature of the solution on the type of relative permeabilities (RPP).

The results of an experimental study of stationary two-phase fluid filtration in a reservoir model through a composite column of core samples are presented. A method is given for determining the relative permeability functions using additional reagents based on the obtained generalized experimental data and calculating pressure losses due to friction, local resistances, and interfacial interaction during the flow of oil-water mixture in the pore channels.

Formulas are proposed for calculating losses from interphase interaction taking into account the influence of the type of surfactant and formation temperature. The dependences of the relative amplitude of pressure loss on interfacial interaction and the position of the maximum loss of the bell-shaped curve on the type of surfactant, formation temperature and adhesion work are obtained, which allow approximating the magnitude of pressure loss on interfacial interactions taking into account surfactants and temperature. The effect of temperature on the type of relative permeabilities is shown.

It was established that the use of the studied aqueous surfactant solutions instead of water for oil displacement leads to a decrease in the residual oil saturation in the core due to a decrease in interfacial tension at the oil-water interface, which as a result leads to an increase in oil recovery.

References:

  1. Altunin A. E., Sokolov, S. V., Stepanov S. V., Cheremisin N. A., Shabarov A. B. 2013. “A calculation method for obtaining relative permeabilities based on the solution of generalized Bernoulli equations for a system of pore channels”. Neftepromyslovoe delo, no. 8, pp. 40-46. [In Russian]

  2. GOST 26450.1-85. 1985. “Mountain rocks. Method for determining the coefficient of open porosity by liquid saturation”. Moscow: Gosstandart SSSR, 8 pp. [In Russian]

  3. GOST 26450.2-85. 1985. “Mountain rocks. Method for determining the absolute gas permeability coefficient for stationary and non-stationary filtration”. Moscow: Gosstandart SSSR, 16 pp. [In Russian]

  4. GOST R 50097-92. 1992. “Substances are surface-active. Determination of interfacial tension. Drop volume method”. Moscow: Gosstandart Rossii. 18 pp. [In Russian]

  5. Kuzina O. A., Semikhina L. P., Shabarov A. B. 2019. “Effect of capillary number and work of adhesion on oil displacement by aqueous solutions of surfactants”. Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy, vol. 5, no. 2, pp. 27-42. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2019-5-2-27-42

  6. OST 39-235-89. 1989. “Oil. A method for determining phase permeabilities in laboratory conditions with joint stationary filtration”. Moscow: Tipografiya HOZU Minnefteproma. 35 p. [In Russian]

  7. Semihina L. P., Karelin E. A., Shtykov S. V. 2019. “The influence of the washing action of aqueous solutions of surfactants on the extraction of oil from formations”. Vestnik Sankt-Peterburgskogo gosudarstvennogo universiteta tekhnologii i dizajna. Seriya 1: Estestvennye i tekhnicheskie nauki, no. 1. pp. 38-44. [In Russian]

  8. Semihina L. P., Shtykov S. V., Karelin E. A., Pashnina A. M. 2015. “Effect of temperature on detergency of water solutions of reagents to remove oil from solid surface”. Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy, vol. 1, no. 3 (3), pp. 39-51. [In Russian]

  9. Stepanov S. V. 2006. “The use of oil field development data to obtain phase permeability curves”. Neftyanoe hozyajstvo, no. 4, pp. 112-114. [In Russian]

  10. Stepanov S. V., Shabarov A. B., Bembel G. S., Shatalov A. V. 2015. “Research of dynamic phase permeabilities based on numerical modeling of two-phase flow in pore channels”. Proceedings of the 11th All-Russian Summit on Funclamental Problems of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics(Kazan), pp. 3600-3601. [In Russian]

  11. Stepanov S. V. 2016. “A complex of computing technologies to improve the quality of modeling the development of oil and gas fields”. Dr. Sci. (Tech.) diss. Tyumen: University of Tyumen. [In Russian]

  12. Shabarov A. B. 2013. Hydrogasdynamics: a training manual 2nd edition. Tyumen: UTMN Publishing House. 460 pp. [In Russian]

  13. Shabarov A. B., Shatalov A. V., Markov P. V., Shatalova N. V. 2018. “Relative Permeability Calculation Methods in Multiphase Filtration Problems”. Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy, vol. 4, no. 1, pp. 79-109. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2018-4-1-79-109 [In Russian]

  14. Shabarov A. B., Shatalov A. V. 2016. “Pressure Drops in Water-Oil Mixture Flow in Porous Channels”. Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy, vol. 2, no. 2, pp. 50-72. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2016-2-2-50-72 [In Russian]

  15. Al-Gharbi M. S. 2004. “Dynamic Pore-Scale Modelling of Two-Phase Flow”. Ph. D. thesis. London: Imperial College London.

  16. Aslan S., Najafabadi N.F., Firoozabadi A. 2016. “Non-monotonicity of the contact angle from NaCl and MgCl2 concentrations in two petroleum fluids on atomistically smooth surfaces”. Energy and Fuels, vol. 30, no. 4, pp. 2858-2864. DOI: 10.1021/acs.energyfuels.6b00175

  17. Blunt M. J., King M. J., Scher H. 1992. “Simulation and Theory of Two-Phase Flow in Porous Media”. Physical Review A, vol. 46, no. 12, pp. 7680-7699. DOI: 10.1103/physreva.46.7680

  18. Lu Y., Najafabadi N.F., Firoozabadi A. 2019. “Effect of Low-concentration of 1-Pentanol on the Wettability of Petroleum Fluid-Brine-Rock Systems”. Langmuir. 2019, vol. 35, no. 12, pp. 4263-4269. DOI: 10.1021/acs.langmuir.9b00099

  19. Markov P. V., Rodionov S. P. 2017. “Rock Typing on the Basis of Pore-scale Models and Complex Well Log Interpretation Parameters”. Paper presented at the International Conference and Exhibition “Tyumen 2017” (11-14 April, Tyumen). EAGE, pp. 1-5.

  20. Nasralla, R.A., Bataweel, M.A., Nasr-El-Din H.A. 2013. “Investigation of wettability alteration and oil-recovery improvement by low-salinity water in sandstone rock”. Journal of Canadian Petroleum Technology, vol. 52, no. 2, pp. 144-154. DOI: 10.2118/146322-PA

  21. Piri M. 2003. “Pore-Scale Modeling of Three-Phase Flow”. Ph. D. thesis. London: Imperial College London.

  22. Raeini A. Q. 2013. “Modelling Multiphase Flow through Micro-CT Images of the Pore Space”. Ph. D. thesis. London: Imperial College London.

  23. Shandrygin A. N. 2014. “Digital Core Analysis for Flow Process Evaluation Is Myth or Reality?”. SPE Russian Oil and Gas Exploration and Production Technical Conference and Exhibition (14-16 October, Moscow). Paper SPE-171216-MS.

  24. Valavanides M. S. 2012. “Steady-state two-phase flow in porous media: review of progress in the development of the DeProF theory bridging pore to statistical thermodynamics scales”. Oil and Gas Science and Technology, vol. 67, no. 5, pp. 787-804.

  25. Valvatne P. H. 2004. “Predictive Pore-Scale Modelling of Multiphase Flow”. Ph. D. diss. London: Imperial College London.

  26. Zemenkova M. Yu., Kuzina O. A., Shabarov A. B. 2019. “Oil displacement by aqueous solutions of surfactants at various temperatures”. IOP Conference Series: Materials Science and Engineering, vol. 663, no. 1, art. 012003. DOI: 10.1088/1757-899X/663/1/012003

Расчетно-экспериментальный метод определения параметров фильтрации смеси «нефть — водный раствор поверхностно-активных веществ»

Вестник ТюмГУ. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика.


Выпуск:

2020. Том 6. № 1 (21)

Название: 
Расчетно-экспериментальный метод определения параметров фильтрации смеси «нефть — водный раствор поверхностно-активных веществ»


Для цитирования: Кузина О. А. Расчетно-экспериментальный метод определения параметров фильтрации смеси «нефть — водный раствор поверхностно-активных веществ» / О. А. Кузина, А. Б. Шабаров // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика. 2020. Том 6. № 1 (21). С. 41-64. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2020-6-1-41-64

Об авторах:

Кузина Ольга Александровна, ассистент кафедры прикладной и технической физики, Физико-технический институт, Тюменский государственный университет; o.a.kuzina@utmn.ru

Шабаров Александр Борисович, доктор технических наук, профессор кафедры прикладной и технической физики, Физико-технический институт, Тюменский государственный университет; eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, ResearcherID, ScopusID, kaf_mms@utmn.ru

Аннотация:

В статье описана физико-математическая кластерная четочная модель и метод расчета течения двухфазной смеси «нефть — водный раствор поверхностно-активных веществ (ПАВ)» в поровом пространстве горных пород. Данный метод позволяет прогнозировать влияние вида водного раствора ПАВ и температуры раствора на вид кривых относительных фазовых проницаемостей (ОФП).

Изложены результаты экспериментального исследования стационарной двухфазной фильтрации жидкости в модели пласта через составную колонку образцов керна. Приведена методика определения функций ОФП с применением добавочных реагентов на основе полученных обобщенных опытных данных и расчета потерь давления из-за трения, местных сопротивлений и межфазного взаимодействия при течении водонефтяной смеси в поровых каналах.

Предложены формулы расчета потерь от межфазного взаимодействия с учетом влияния вида ПАВ и температуры пласта. Получены зависимости относительной амплитуды потерь давления от межфазного взаимодействия и положения максимума потерь колоколообразной кривой от вида ПАВ, температуры пласта и работы адгезии, позволяющие аппроксимировать величины потерь давления на межфазные взаимодействия с учетом поверхностно-активных веществ и температуры. Показано влияние температуры на вид кривых ОФП.

Установлено, что применение исследованных водных растворов ПАВ вместо воды для вытеснения нефти приводит к уменьшению остаточной нефтенасыщенности в керне вследствие снижения межфазного натяжения на границе «нефть — вода», что в результате приводит к увеличению нефтеотдачи.

Список литературы:

  1. Алтунин А. Е. Расчетный метод получения ОФП на основе решения обобщенных уравнений Бернулли для системы поровых каналов / А. Е. Алтунин, С. В. Соколов, С. В. Степанов, Н. А. Черемисин, А. Б. Шабаров // Нефтепромысловое дело. 2013. № 8. С. 40-46.

  2. ГОСТ 26450.1-85. Породы горные. Метод определения коэффициента открытой пористости жидкостенасыщением. М.: Госстандарт СССР, 1985. 8 с.

  3. ГОСТ 26450.2-85. Породы горные. Метод определения коэффициента абсолютной газопроницаемости при стационарной и нестационарной фильтрации. М.: Госстандарт СССР, 1985. 16 с.

  4. ГОСТ Р 50097-92. Вещества поверхностно-активные. Определение межфазного натяжения. Метод объема капли. М.: Госстандарт России, 1992. 18 с.

  5. Кузина О. А. Влияние капиллярного числа и работы адгезии на вытеснение нефти водными растворами поверхностно-активных веществ / О. А. Кузина, Л. П. Семихина, А. Б. Шабаров // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика. 2019. Том 5. № 2. С. 27-42. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2019-5-2-27-42

  6. ОСТ 39-235-89. Нефть. Метод определения фазовых проницаемостей в лабораторных условиях при совместной стационарной фильтрации. М.: Типография ХОЗУ Миннефтепрома, 1989. 35 с.

  7. Семихина Л. П. Влияние моющего действия водных растворов поверхностно-активных веществ на извлечение нефти из пластов / Л. П. Семихина, Е. А. Карелин, С. В. Штыков // Вестник Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета технологии и дизайна. Серия 1: Естественные и технические науки. 2019. № 1. С. 38-44.

  8. Семихина Л. П. Влияние температуры на способность водных растворов реагентов отмывать нефть с поверхности твердого тела / Л. П. Семихина, С. В. Штыков, Е. А. Карелин, А. М. Пашнина // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика. 2015. Том 1. № 3 (3). С. 39-51.

  9. Степанов С. В. Использование данных разработки месторождений нефти для получения кривых фазовых проницаемостей / С. В. Степанов // Нефтяное хозяйство. 2006. № 4. С. 112-114.

  10. Степанов С. В. Исследование динамических фазовых проницаемостей на основе численного моделирования двухфазного течения в поровых каналах / С. В. Степанов, А. Б. Шабаров, Г. С. Бембель, А. В. Шаталов // Материалы XI Всероссийского съезда по фундаментальным проблемам теоретической и прикладной механик. Казань, 2015. С. 3600-3601.

  11. Степанов С. В. Комплекс вычислительных технологий для повышения качества моделирования разработки нефтяных и газонефтяных месторождений: дис. ... д-ра техн. наук / С. В. Степанов. Тюмень: Тюменский государственный университет, 2016.

  12. Шабаров А. Б. Гидрогазодинамика: учеб. пос. / А. Б. Шабаров. 2-е изд., перераб. Тюмень: Изд-во Тюменского государственного университета, 2013. 460 с.

  13. Шабаров А. Б. Методы определения функций относительной фазовой проницаемости в задачах многофазной фильтрации / А. Б. Шабаров, А. В. Шаталов, П. В. Марков, Н. В. Шаталова // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика. 2018. Том 4. № 1. С. 79-109. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2018-4-1-79-109

  14. Шабаров А. Б. Потери давления при течении водонефтяной смеси в поровых каналах / А. Б. Шабаров, А. В. Шаталов // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, Газ, Энергетика. 2016. Том 2. № 2. С. 50-72. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2016-2-2-50-72

  15. Al-Gharbi M. S. Dynamic Pore-Scale Modelling of Two-Phase Flow: Ph. D. thesis / M. S. Al-Gharbi. London: Imperial College London, 2004.

  16. Aslan S. Non-monotonicity of the contact angle from NaCl and MgCl2 concentrations in two petroleum fluids on atomistically smooth surfaces / S. Aslan, N. F. Najafabadi, A. Firoozabadi // Energy and Fuels. 2016. Vol. 30. № 4. Pp. 2858-2864. DOI: 10.1021/acs.energyfuels.6b00175

  17. Blunt M. J. Simulation and theory of two-phase flow in porous media / M. J. Blunt, M. J. King, H. Scher // Physical Review A. 1992. Vol. 46. № 12. Pp. 7680-7699. DOI: 10.1103/physreva.46.7680

  18. Lu Y. Effect of low-concentration of 1-pentanol on the wettability of petroleum fluid-brine-rock systems / Y. Lu, N. F. Najafabadi, A. Firoozabadi // Langmuir. 2019. Vol. 35. № 12. Pp. 4263-4269. DOI: 10.1021/acs.langmuir.9b00099

  19. Markov P. V. Rock typing on the basis of pore-scale models and complex well log interpretation parameters / P. V. Markov, S. P. Rodionov // International Conference and Exhibition «Tyumen 2017» (11-14 April 2017. Tyumen, Russia). EAGE, 2017. Pp. 1-5.

  20. Nasralla R. A. Investigation of wettability alteration and oil-recovery improvement by low-salinity water in sandstone rock / R. A. Nasralla, M. A. Bataweel, H. A. Nasr-El-Din // Journal of Canadian Petroleum Technology. 2013. Vol. 52. № 2. Pp. 144-154. DOI: 10.2118/146322-PA

  21. Piri M. Pore-Scale Modeling of Three-Phase Flow: Ph. D. thesis / M. Piri. London: Imperial College London, 2003.

  22. Raeini A. Q. Modelling Multiphase Flow through Micro-CT Images of the Pore Space: Ph. D. thesis / A. Q. Raeini. London: Imperial College London, 2013.

  23. Shandrygin A. N. Digital core analysis for flow process evaluation is myth or reality? / A. N. Shandrygin // SPE Russian Oil and Gas Exploration and Production Technical Conference and Exhibition (14-16 October 2014, Moscow, Russia). 2014. Paper SPE-171216-MS.

  24. Valavanides M. S. Steady-state two-phase flow in porous media: review of progress in the development of the DeProF theory bridging pore to statistical thermodynamics scales / M. S. Valavanides // Oil and Gas Science and Technology. 2012. Vol. 67. № 5. Pp. 787-804.

  25. Valvatne P. H. Predictive Pore-Scale Modelling of Multiphase Flow: Ph. D. diss. / P. H. Valvatne. London: Imperial College London, 2004.

  26. Zemenkova M. Yu. Oil displacement by aqueous solutions of surfactants at various temperatures / M. Yu. Zemenkova, O. A. Kuzina, A. B. Shabarov. 2019. IOP Conference Series: Materials Science and Engineering. Vol. 663. № 1. Article № 012003. DOI: 10.1088/1757-899X/663/1/012003