Effect of capillary number and work of adhesion on oil displacement by aqueous solutions of surfactants

Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy


Release:

2019, Vol. 5. №2

Title: 
Effect of capillary number and work of adhesion on oil displacement by aqueous solutions of surfactants


For citation: Kuzina O. A., Semikhina L. P., Shabarov A. B. 2019. “Effect of capillary number and work of adhesion on oil displacement by aqueous solutions of surfactants”. Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy, vol. 5, no 2, pp. 27-42. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2019-5-2-27-42

About the authors:

Olga A. Kuzina, Assistant Professor, Department of Applied and Technical Physics, Institute of Physics and Technology, University of Tyumen; o.a.kuzina@utmn.ru

Lyudmila P. Semikhina, Dr. Sci. (Phys.-Math.), Professor, Institute of Physics and Technology, University of Tyumen; semihina@mail.ru

Aleksandr B. Shabarov, Dr. Sci. (Tech.), Professor, Department of Applied and Technical Physics, Institute of Physics and Technology, University of Tyumen; eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, ResearcherID, ScopusID, kaf_mms@utmn.ru

Abstract:

This article deals with the physical foundations of the displacement processes and the main parameters characterizing the physicochemical properties of the phase separation surfaces and the patterns of their interaction, such as the work of adhesion, wetting, and interfacial tension. This required the analysis of the published studies on oil displacement with aqueous solutions of surfactants.

The authors have performed a series of experimental studies on oil displacement from the composite core (sandstone) with sample mineralized water (2% NaCl in distilled water) and surfactant solutions under thermobaric conditions: mountain pressure p=25 MPa and temperature t=60°C with filtration rate 1.7 m/day by stationary filtration. This analysis required an interfacial tension at the “oil — water surfactant solution” interface, as well as oil adhesion to a model solid surface (a plate made of quartz glass) in water and water surfactant solutions.

The results show that the oil recovery coefficient depends not only on the capillary number Nc, but also on the adhesion of oil to the surface of rocks W. The authors suggest to evaluate the effect of surfactants on the adhesion of oil to rock with a dimensionless parameter W*=Ww/W, equal to the ratio of specific works adhesion of oil when displaced by water (Ww) and with the use of surfactants (W). The mass transfer during oil displacement with surfactant aqueous solutions is characterized by the equation Kdis=C·(Nc·W*n)m, the empirical coefficients of which are found by the equation of the linear trend line lg(Kdis) from the logarithm of the modified capillary number N*c=Nc·W*n. The reliability of the linear approximation R2 of the experimental data obtained in this work is 0.9999, that is very close to 1. For the reagents and rock considered in the work, the empirical coefficients were the following: С=268.16; m=0.1080, n=0.25.

References:

  1. Abramzon A. A. 1981. Surfactants: Properties and Uses. Leningrad: Khimiya. [In Russian]
  2. Babalyan G. A. 1983. Development of Oil Fields Using Surfactants. Moscow: Nedra. [In Russian]
  3. Baturin Yu. E. 2016. Design and Development of Oil and Gas Oil Fields in Western Siberia. Vol. 2. Surgut: Surgutneftegaz, Neft’ Priob’ya. [In Russian]
  4. Bogdanova Yu. G., Dolzhikova V. D., Summ B. D. 2004. “The influence of the chemical nature of the components on the wetting effect of solutions of mixtures of surfactants”. Vestnik Moskovskogo universiteta. Seriya 2. Khimiya, vol. 45, no 3, pp. 186-194. [In Russian]
  5. GOST R 50097-92. 1992. Surface Active Agents. Determination of Interfacial Tension. Method of Drop Volume. Moscow: Izadatelstvo standartov. [In Russian]
  6. Grigoryev B. V., Vazhenin D. A., Kuzina O. A. 2016. “The effect of SAS concentration in the water solution and temperature on the surface tension”. Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy, vol. 2, no 3, pp. 35-48. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2016-2-3-35-48 [In Russian]
  7. Ivanov M. A. 2017. “Development of empirical models and experimental substantiation of residual oil and water saturations”. MS diss. Tyumen: University of Tyumen. [In Russian]
  8. Isachenko V. P, Osipova V. A., Sukomel A. S. 1975. Heat Transfer. Moscow: Energiya. [In Russian]
  9. Lukanin V. N., Shatrov M. G. et al. 2009. Heat Engineering. Moscow: Vysshaya shkola. [In Russian]
  10. Nigmatulin R. I. 1987. Dynamics of Multiphase Media. Vol. 2. Moscow: Nauka. [In Russian]
  11. OST 39-235-89. 1989. Oil. Method for determination of phase permeability in the laboratory with joint stationary filtration. Moscow: Tipografiya KhOZU Minnefteproma. [In Russian]
  12. Pecherin T. N. 2016. “The effect of the displacing agent on the components of the oil recovery”. Vestnik nedropol’zovatelya Khanty-Mansiyskogo avtonomnogo okruga, no 28. http://www.oilnews.ru/28-28/vliyanie-vytesnyayushhego-agenta-na-sostavlyayushhie-koefficienta-izvlec... [In Russian]
  13. Semikhina L. P., Shtykov S. V., Karelin E. A., Pashnina A. M. 2015. “Effect of temperature on detergency of water solutions of reagents to remove oil from solid surface”. Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy, vol. 1, no 3 (3), pp. 39-51. [In Russian]
  14. Semikhina L. P., Shtykov S. V., Karelin E. A. 2015. “Investigation of the suitability of reagents for chemical methods of waterflooding according to their ability to launder oil films”. Neftegazovoe delo, no 5, pp 236-256. DOI: 10.17122/ogbus-2015-5-236-256 [In Russian]
  15. Stepanov S. V. 2016. “Complex of computational technologies for improving the quality of modeling the development of oil and gas and oil fields”. Dr. Sci. (Tech.) diss. Tyumen: Tyumen Oil Research Center. [In Russian]
  16. Shabarov A. B., Shatalov A. V. 2016. “Pressure drops in water-oil mixture flow in porous channels”. Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy, vol. 2, no 2, pp. 50-72. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2016-2-2-50-72 [In Russian]
  17. Shtykov S. V., Pashnina A. M. 2015. “The influence of the sizes of sulfonol micelles in aqueous solutions on its washing ability”. Proceedings of the International Research Conference “Rezul’taty nauchnykh issledovaniy” (5 October 2015, Yekaterinburg), pp. 23-29. Ufa: Aeterna. [In Russian]
  18. Cao Q., Yu L., Zheng Q. et al. 2008. “Rheological properties of wormlike micelles in sodium oleate solution induced by sodium ion”. Colloids and Surfaces A: Physicochemical and Engineering Aspects, vol. 312, no 1, pp. 32-38. DOI: 10.1016/j.colsurfa.2007.06.024
  19. Larson R. G., Scriven L. E., Davis H. T. 1981. “Percolation theory of two phase flow in porous media”. Chemical Engineering Science, vol. 36, no 1, pp. 57-73. DOI: 10.1016/0009-2509(81)80048-6
  20. Reed R. L., Healy R. N. 1977. “Some physicochemical aspects of microemulsion flooding: a review”. In: Shah D. O., Schechter R. S. (eds.). Improved Oil Recovery by Surfactant and Polymer Flooding, pp. 383-437. New York: Academic Press. DOI: 10.1016/B978-0-12-641750-0.50017-7
  21. Yang J., Qiao W., Li Z., Cheng L. 2005. “Effects of branching in hexadecylbenzene sulfonate isomers on interfacial tension behavior in oil/alkali systems”. Fuel, vol. 84, no 12-13, pp. 1607-1611. DOI: 10.1016/j.fuel.2005.01.014

Влияние капиллярного числа и работы адгезии на вытеснение нефти водными растворами поверхностно-активных веществ

Вестник ТюмГУ. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика.


Выпуск:

2019. Том 5. №2

Название: 
Влияние капиллярного числа и работы адгезии на вытеснение нефти водными растворами поверхностно-активных веществ


Для цитирования: Кузина О. А. Влияние капиллярного числа и работы адгезии на вытеснение нефти водными растворами поверхностно-активных веществ / О. А. Кузина, Л. П. Семихина, А. Б. Шабаров // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика. 2019. Том 5. № 2. С. 27-42. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2019-5-2-27-42

Об авторах:

Кузина Ольга Александровна, аспирант, ассистент кафедры прикладной и технической физики, Тюменский государственный университет; o.a.kuzina@utmn.ru

Семихина Людмила Петровна , доктор физико-математических наук, директор центра «БИО и ПАВ», Тюменский государственный университет; semihina@mail.ru

Шабаров Александр Борисович, доктор технических наук, профессор кафедры прикладной и технической физики, Тюменский государственный университет; eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, ResearcherID, ScopusID, kaf_mms@utmn.ru

Аннотация:

В статье рассмотрены физические основы процессов вытеснения и основные параметры, характеризующие физико-химические свойства поверхностей раздела фаз и некоторые закономерности их взаимодействия, такие как работа адгезии, смачивание, межфазное натяжение. Проведен анализ работ по исследованиям вытеснения нефти водными растворами ПАВ.

Выполнен цикл экспериментальных исследований вытеснения нефти из составного образца керна (песчаник) минерализованной водой (2% раствор NaCl на дистиллированной воде) и растворами ПАВ на этой воде при термобарических условиях: горном давлении p=25 МПа и температуре t=60°C со скоростью фильтрации 1,7 м/сут. методом стационарной фильтрации. Для анализа полученных результатов по вытеснению нефти проведено исследование межфазного натяжения на границе «нефть — водный раствор ПАВ», а также адгезии нефти к модельной поверхности твердого тела (пластина из кварцевого стекла) в воде и водных растворах ПАВ.

Экспериментально установлено, что коэффициент вытеснения нефти Квыт зависит не только от так называемого капиллярного числа Nc, но и от адгезии нефти к поверхности породы W. Предложено оценивать влияние ПАВ на адгезию нефти к породе безразмерным параметром W*=Ww/W, равным отношению удельных работ адгезии нефти при вытеснении водой (Ww) и с применением ПАВ (W).

Показано, что массообмен при вытеснении нефти водными растворами ПАВ характеризуется уравнением Квыт=C·(Nc·W*n)m, эмпирические коэффициенты которого находятся по уравнению линейной линии тренда зависимости lg(Квыт) от логарифма модифицированного капиллярного числа N*c=Nc·W*n. Достоверность линейной аппроксимации R2 полученных в данной работе экспериментальных данных составляет 0,9999, т. е. очень близка к 1. Для рассмотренных в работе реагентов и горной породы эмпирические коэффициенты составили: С=268,16; m=0,1080, n=0,25.

Список литературы:

  1. Абрамзон А. А. Поверхностно-активные вещества: свойства и применение / А. А. Абрамзон. Л.: Химия, 1981. 304 с.
  2. Бабалян Г. А. Разработка нефтяных месторождений с применением поверхностно-активных веществ / Г. А. Бабалян. М.: Недра, 1983. 216 с.
  3. Батурин Ю. Е. Проектирование и разработка нефтяных и газонефтяных месторождений Западной Сибири. Том 2: Разработка месторождений / Ю. Е. Батурин. Сургут: Сургутнефтегаз, Нефть Приобья, 2016. 204 с.
  4. Богданова Ю. Г. Влияние химической природы компонентов на смачивающее действие растворов смесей поверхностно-активных веществ / Ю. Г. Богданова, В. Д. Должикова, Б. Д. Сумм // Вестник Московского университета. Серия 2: Химия. 2004. Том 45. № 3. С. 186-194.
  5. ГОСТ Р 50097-92. Вещества поверхностно-активные. Определение межфазного натяжения. Метод объема капли. М.: Издательство стандартов, 1992. 18 с.
  6. Григорьев Б. В. Влияние концентрации ПАВ водных растворов и температуры на коэффициент поверхностного натяжения / Б. В. Григорьев, Д. А. Важенин, О. А. Кузина // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика. 2016. Том 2. № 3. С. 35-48. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2016-2-3-35-48
  7. Иванов М. А. Разработка эмпирических моделей и экспериментальное обоснование остаточной нефте- и водонасыщенностей: магистерская диссертация / М. А. Иванов. Тюмень: Тюменский государственный университет, 2017. 85 с.
  8. Исаченко В. П. Теплопередача / В. П. Исаченко, В. А. Осипова, А. С. Сукомел. М.: Энергия, 1975. 488 с.
  9. Луканин В. Н. Теплотехника / В. Н. Луканин, М. Г. Шатров и др. М.: Высшая школа, 2009. 671 c.
  10. Нигматулин Р. И. Динамика многофазных сред. Часть 2 / Р. И. Нигматулин. М.: Наука, 1987.
  11. ОСТ 39-235-89. Нефть. Метод определения фазовых проницаемостей в лабораторных условиях при совместной стационарной фильтрации. М.: Типография ХОЗУ Миннефтепрома, 1989. 35 с.
  12. Печёрин Т. Н. Влияние вытесняющего агента на составляющие коэффициента извлечения нефти / Т. Н. Печёрин // Вестник недропользователя Ханты-Мансийского автономного округа. 2016. № 28. URL: http://www.oilnews.ru/28-28/vliyanie-vytesnyayushhego-agenta-na-sostavlyayushhie-koefficienta-izvlec...
  13. Семихина Л. П. Влияние температуры на способность водных растворов реагентов отмывать нефть с поверхности твердого тела / Л. П. Семихина, С. В. Штыков, Е. А. Карелин, А. М. Пашнина // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика. 2015. Том 1. № 3 (3). С. 39-51.
  14. Семихина Л. П. Исследование пригодности реагентов для химических методов заводнения по их способности отмывать пленки нефти / Л. П. Семихина, С. В. Штыков, Е. А. Карелин // Нефтегазовое дело. 2015. № 5. С. 236-256. DOI: 10.17122/ogbus-2015-5-236-256
  15. Степанов С. В. Комплекс вычислительных технологий для повышения качества моделирования разработки нефтяных и газонефтяных месторождений: дис. ... д-ра техн. наук / С. В. Степанов. Тюмень: Тюменский нефтяной научный центр, 2016.
  16. Шабаров А. Б. Потери давления при течении водонефтяной смеси в поровых каналах / А. Б. Шабаров, А. В. Шаталов // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика. 2016. Том 2. № 2. С. 50-72. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2016-2-2-50-72
  17. Штыков С. В. Влияние размеров мицелл сульфонола в водных растворах на его моющую способность / С. В. Штыков, А. М. Пашнина // Результаты научных исследований: сборник статей Международной научно-практической конференции (5 октября 2015 г., Екатеринбург). Уфа: Аэтерна, 2015. С. 23-29.
  18. Cao Q. Rheological properties of wormlike micelles in sodium oleate solution induced by sodium ion / Q. Cao, L. Yu, Q. Zheng et al. // Colloids and Surfaces A: Physicochemical and Engineering Aspects. 2008. Vol. 312. № 1. Pp. 32-38. DOI: 10.1016/j.colsurfa.2007.06.024
  19. Larson R. G. Percolation theory of two phase flow in porous media / R. G. Larson, L. E. Scriven, H. T. Davis // Chemical Engineering Science. 1981. Vol. 36. № 1. Pp. 57-73. DOI: 10.1016/0009-2509(81)80048-6
  20. Reed R. L. Some physicochemical aspects of microemulsion flooding: a review / R. L. Reed, R. N. Healy // Improved Oil Recovery by Surfactant and Polymer Flooding / ed. by D. O. Shah, R. S. Schechter. New York: Academic Press, 1977. Pp. 383-437. DOI: 10.1016/B978-0-12-641750-0.50017-7
  21. Yang J. Effects of branching in hexadecylbenzene sulfonate isomers on interfacial tension behavior in oil/alkali systems / J. Yang, W. Qiao, Z. Li, L. Cheng // Fuel. 2005. Vol. 84. № 12-13. Pp. 1607-1611. DOI: 10.1016/j.fuel.2005.01.014