Study of the Processes of Stationary and Non-Stationary Waterflooding of Fractured-Porous Reservoirs

Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy


Release:

2018, Vol. 4. №3

Title: 
Study of the Processes of Stationary and Non-Stationary Waterflooding of Fractured-Porous Reservoirs


For citation: Pyatkov A. A., Kosyakov V. P. 2018. “Study of the Processes of Stationary and Non-Stationary Waterflooding of Fractured-Porous Reservoirs”. Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy, vol. 4, no 3, pp. 90-102. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2018-4-3-90-102

About the authors:

Alexander A. Pyatkov, Postgraduate Student, Department of Mechanics of Multiphase Systems, University of Tyumen; Laboratory Assistant with Higher Education, Tyumen Branch of Khristianovich Institute of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics of the Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences; Researcher, Uni-CONCORD (Tyumen); pyatkovi80@mail.ru

Vitaly P. Kosyakov, Cand. Sci. (Phys.-Math.), Senior Researcher, Tyumen Branch of the Khristianovich Institute of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics of the Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences; eLibrary AuthorID, Web of Science ResearcherID, hammer-rav@mail.ru

Abstract:

A significant number of the world's known reserves of hydrocarbons are found in fields that are more or less fractured. Despite the fact that the fractures have a small relative volume, due to their high conductivity, they have a significant effect on the hydrocarbon production process. The development of such deposits is often difficult and sometimes ineffective. Earlier works according to the data of 56 deposits with the presence of fracturing, snow the range of change in the oil recovery factor from 10% to 70%. In this paper, we studied the features of a two-phase flow in fractured-porous reservoirs for stationary and non-stationary waterflooding using a discrete model network model. The dependence of the oil production dynamics on the duration of the water injection cycles, the parameters and the position of the fracture relative to the wells was investigated. The investigations were carried on a model, in which there were one or more fracture with different lengths and orientations relative to the wells. A numerical experiment is conducted using proprietary reservoir simulator with the capability to model the fluid motion in conditions of non-isothermal processes and a solitary long cracks in the formation. In the simulation used unstructured grid (Voronoi polygons). In this case the grid inside the fractures was rectangular. At the core of the simulator is a mathematical model of filtration “black oil”.

As a result of the performed research, it is shown that in the case of stationary waterflooding, the presence of fracturing in the reservoir leads to a rapid breakthrough of water to production wells and to a reduction in the oil recovery factor. Non-stationary waterflooding makes it possible to increase oil production. At the same time, a non-stationary cyclic waterflooding in a homogeneous reservoir does not lead to a significant increase in oil recovery. The degree of effectiveness of the cyclic waterflooding strongly depends on the permeability and on the orientation of the fractures relative to the wells. The presence of a strong effect from the non-stationary waterflooding of the reservoir may serve as one of the signs of the presence of fractures in the reservoir.

References:

  1. Aziz H., Settari E. 2004. Matematicheskoye modelirovaniye plastovykh system [Mathematical Modeling of Reservoir Systems]. Moscow-Izhevsk: Institut komp’yuternykh issledovaniy.
  2. Basniev K. S., Kochina N. I., Maksimov M. V. 1993. Podzemnaya gidromekhanika [Undeground Hydromechanics]. Moscow: Nedra.
  3. Kanevskaya R. D. 2002. Matematicheskoye modelirovaniye gidrodinamicheskikh protsessov razrabotki mestorozhdeniy uglevodorodov [Mathematical Simulation of Hydrodynamic Processes of Hydrocarbon Deposits Development]. Moscow-Izhevsk: Institut komp'yuternykh issledovaniy.
  4. Kosyakov V. P., Pyatkov A. A. 2015. “Issledovaniye vliyaniya raskrytosti treshchin pri modelirovanii razrabotki treshchinovato-porovogo plasta” [The Research of Influence of Fracture Aperture in the Simulation Development Fractured Porous Reservoir]. Neftepromyslovoye delo, no 11, pp. 25-29.
  5. Pyatkov A. A., Kosyakov V. P. 2017. “Study of Filtration of High-Viscosity Oil in Fractured-Porous Reservoir”. Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy, vol. 3, no 3, pp. 40-51. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2017-3-3-40-51
  6. Allan J., Qing S. S. 2003. “Controls on Recovery Factor in Fractured Reservoirs: Lessons Learned from 100 Fractured Fields”. SPE paper 84590 presented at the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition. Denver, Co.
  7. Farzaneh S. A., Kharrat R. 2010. Experimental Study of Solvent Flooding to Heavy Oil in Fractured Five-Spot Micro-Models: The Role of Fracture Geometrical Characteristics. Tehran Petroleum Research Centre, Iran. March. 
  8. Firoozabadi A. 2000. “Recovery Mechanisms in Fractured Reservoirs and Field Performance”. Journal of Canadian Petroleum Technology, vol. 39, no 11, pp. 13-17. DOI: 10.2118/00-11-DAS
  9. Saidi A. M. 1983. “Simulation of Naturally Fractured Reservoirs”. Paper SPE 12270 presented at 7th SPE Symposium on Reservoir Simulation. San Francisco, CA. DOI: 10.2118/12270-MS
  10. Weber K. J. 1986. “How Heterogeneity Affects Oil Recovery”. In: Reservoir Characterisation. Academic Press. DOI: 10.1016/B978-0-12-434065-7.50021-6

Исследование процессов стационарного и нестационарного заводнения трещиновато-пористых коллекторов

Вестник ТюмГУ. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика.


Выпуск:

2018. Том 4. №3

Название: 
Исследование процессов стационарного и нестационарного заводнения трещиновато-пористых коллекторов


Для цитирования: Пятков А. А. Исследование процессов стационарного и нестационарного заводнения трещиновато-пористых коллекторов / А. А. Пятков, В. П. Косяков // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика. 2018. Том 4. № 3. С. 90-102. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2018-4-3-90-102

Об авторах:

Пятков Александр Александрович, аспирант кафедры механики многофазных систем, Тюменский государственный университет; лаборант с высшим образованием, Тюменский филиал Института теоретической и прикладной механики им. С.А. Христиановича СО РАН; научный сотрудник, Юни-КОНКОРД (г. Тюмень); pyatkovi80@mail.ru

Косяков Виталий Петрович, кандидат физико-математических наук, доцент базовой кафедры расходометрии нефти и газа, Тюменский государственный университет; старший научный сотрудник, Тюменский филиал Института теоретической и прикладной механики им. С.А. Христиановича СО РАН; заведующий лабораторией прикладной математики, Юни-КОНКОРД (г. Тюмень); hammer-rav@mail.ru

Аннотация:

Большое количество разведанных запасов углеводородов принадлежат к месторождениям, имеющим трещины различного масштаба. Из-за высокой проводимости, трещины оказывают существенное влияние на процесс добычи нефти из трещиновато-пористых коллекторов. В результате чего разработка таких месторождений бывает неэффективной и сопряжена с различными трудностями. В своих работах Дж. Аллан, Сунь С. Цинь, А. Фирузабади по данным 56 месторождений с наличием трещиноватости приводят диапазон изменения коэффициента извлечения нефти от 10% до 70%. В данной работе изучены особенности двухфазного течения в трещиновато-пористых коллекторах при стационарном и нестационарном заводнении с использованием дискретной модели трещин. Исследована зависимость динамики добычи нефти от длительности циклов закачки воды, параметров и положения трещины относительно скважин. Исследования проводились на модели с одной или несколькими трещинами различной длины и ориентации относительно скважин. Для проведения численного эксперимента использовался собственный гидродинамический симулятор с возможностью моделирования движения воды и нефти в условиях наличия уединенных протяженных трещин в пласте и неизотермичности процессов. Для снижения ориентационного эффекта и более корректного моделирования трещин в симуляторе используется неструктурированная расчетная сетка (полигоны Вороного). При этом сетка внутри трещин была прямоугольной. Для создания гидродинамического симулятора использовалась математическая модель фильтрации black oil.

В результате проведенных исследований показано, что в случае стационарного заводнения наличие трещиноватости в пласте приводит к быстрому прорыву воды в добывающие скважины и к снижению коэффициента извлечения нефти. Применение нестационарного заводнения позволяет увеличить добычу нефти. В то же время нестационарное заводнение в однородном пласте не приводит к значительному увеличению нефтеотдачи. Степень эффективности нестационарного заводнения сильно зависит от проницаемости и ориентации трещин относительно скважин. Наличие сильного эффекта от нестационарного заводнения может служить одним из признаков наличия трещин в пласте.

Список литературы:

  1. Азиз Х. Математическое моделирование пластовых систем / Х. Азиз, Э. Сеттари. М., Ижевск: Институт компьютерных исследований, 2004. 416 с.
  2. Басниев К. С. Подземная гидромеханика / К. С. Басниев, И. Н. Кочина, В. М. Максимов. М.: Недра, 1993. 416 с.
  3. Каневская Р. Д. Математическое моделирование гидродинамических процессов разработки месторождений углеводородов / Р. Д. Каневская. М.; Ижевск: Институт компьютерных исследований, 2002. 140 с.
  4. Косяков В. П. Исследование влияния раскрытости трещин при моделировании разработки трещиновато-порового пласта / В. П. Косяков, А. А. Пятков // Нефтепромысловое дело. 2015. № 11. С. 25-29.
  5. Пятков А. А. Исследование процессов фильтрации высоковязкой нефти в трещиновато-пористом коллекторе / А. А. Пятков, В. П. Косяков // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика. 2017. Том 3. № 3. С. 40-51. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7978-2017-3-3-40-51
  6. Allan J. Controls on Recovery Factor in Fractured Reservoirs: Lessons Learned from 100 Fractured Fields / J. Allan, Sun S. Qing // SPE paper 84590 presented at the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition. Denver, 2003.
  7. Farzaneh S. A. Experimental Study of Solvent Flooding to Heavy Oil in Fractured Five-Spot Micro-Models: The Role of Fracture Geometrical Characteristics / S. A. Farzaneh, R. Kharrat. Iran: Tehran Petroleum Research Centre, March 2010.
  8. Firoozabadi A. Recovery Mechanisms in Fractured Reservoirs and Field Performance / A. Firoozabadi // Journal of Canadian Petroleum Technology. 2000. Vol. 39. No 11. Pp. 13-17. DOI: 10.2118/00-11-DAS
  9. Saidi A. M. Simulation of Naturally Fractured Reservoirs / A. Saidi // Paper SPE 12270, 7th SPE Symposium on Reservoir Simulation. San Francisco, 1983. DOI: 10.2118/12270-MS
  10. Weber K. J. How Heterogeneity Affects Oil Recovery / K. J. Weber // Reservoir Characterization. Orlando: Academy Press, 1986. DOI: 10.1016/B978-0-12-434065-7.50021-6