Numerical research of permeability dependence of porosity in the media formed by regular structure channels

Tyumen State University Herald. Physical and Mathematical Modeling. Oil, Gas, Energy


Release:

2015, Vol. 1. №1(1)

Title: 
Numerical research of permeability dependence of porosity in the media formed by regular structure channels


About the authors:

Dmitry E. Igoshin, Cand. Sci. (Phys-Math.), Senior Researcher, Tyumen Branch of the Khristianovich Institute of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics of the Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences; Associate Professor, Department of Fundamental Mathematics and Mechanics, Department of Applied and Technical Physics, University of Tyumen; igoshinde@gmail.com

Roman S. Saburov, Master’s Degree Student, Institute of Mathematics and Computer Science, Tyumen State University

Abstract:

A porous medium, whose channels have a complex shape and are formed by regular structures, is considered in the article. The authors present a method to determine the permeability of a medium by direct hydrodynamic modeling. The fluid rate is calculated by solving the system of Navier–Stokes equations in the amount of one pore. Then, with the help of Darcy’s law, the permeability of the porous medium is determined. Numerical implementation is carried out in conjunction of open software packages: SALOME–OpenFOAM–Paraview. The geometry of the pore space and the computational mesh are designed with the help of SALOME software package. The calculations are performed with the OpenFOAM package. Visualization of calculations is implemented in the package Paraview. Verification of the solver is carried out on the test case of Poiseuille flow. The article shows that the degree of overlapping spheres permeability decreases rapidly with the reduction of porosity. A close agreement between the results of calculations and analytical lower estimator for the permeability is given in the article by Igoshin D.E., Nikonova O.A., Mostovoy P.Ya. which is the first quoted in the paper.

References:

1. Igoshin, D.E., Nikonova, O.A., Mostovoy, P.Ya. Simulation of the porous medium by regular packages of intersecting spheres // Tyumen State University Herald. 2014. №. 7. Pp. 34–42. (in Russian).

2. Romm, E.S. Structural models of porous medium of earth materials. Saint-Petersburg: Nedra, 1985. 240 p. (in Russian).

3. Leibenson, L.S. The flow of natural liquids and gases through porous medium. Moscow, 1947. Pp. 11–24. (in Russian).

4. Heifets, L.I., Neimark, A.V. Multiphase processes in porous medium. Moscow: Himiya, 1982. Pp. 29–33. (in Russian).

5. Schwindler, M.I. Statistical hydromechanics of porous medium. Moscow: Nedra, 1985. 288 p. (in Russian).

6. Darcy Henry Les fontaines publiques de la ville de Dijon: exposition et application des principes à suivre et des formules à employer dans les questions de distribution d'eau... Paris: V. Dalmont, 1856. 647 p.

7. Basniev, K.S., Kochina N.I. Underground fluid mechanics. Moscow: Nedra, 1993. 416 p. (in Russian).

8. Leontyev, N.E. Filtration fundamentals. Moscow: MSU, 2009. 88 p. (in Russian).

9. Bourbie, Т., Coussy, O., Zinszner, B. Acoistique des Milieux Poreux. Chap. 1. Paris: Technip, 1986.

10. Wong, P.Z., Koplik, J., Tomanic, J.P. // Phys. Rev. Ser. B. 1984. Vol. 30. P. 6606.

11. Guoyn, Е., Oger, L., Fiona, T.J. // J. Phys. Ser. D. 1987. Vol. 20. P. 1637.

Численное исследование зависимости проницаемости от пористости среды, образованной каналами регулярной структуры

Вестник ТюмГУ. Физико-математическое моделирование. Нефть, газ, энергетика.


Выпуск:

2015. Том 1. №1(1)

Название: 
Численное исследование зависимости проницаемости от пористости среды, образованной каналами регулярной структуры


Об авторах:

Игошин Дмитрий Евгеньевич, кандидат физико-математических наук, старший научный сотрудник Тюменского филиала Института теоретической и прикладной механики им. С.А. Христиановича СО РАН; доцент кафедры фундаментальной математики и механики и кафедры прикладной и технической физики, Тюменский государственный университет; igoshinde@gmail.com

Сабуров Роман Сергеевич, магистрант Института математики и компьютерных наук Тюменского государственного университета

Аннотация:

Рассмотрена пористая среда, каналы которой имеют сложную форму и образованы регулярными структурами. Предложен способ определения проницаемости такой среды с помощью прямого гидродинамического моделирования. Решая систему уравнений Навье–Стокса в объеме одной поры, находим расход флюида через нее. Далее, используя закон Дарси, определяем проницаемость пористой среды. Численная реализация проведена в связке из открытых пакетов: SALOME–OpenFOAM–Paraview. Геометрия порового пространства и расчетная сетка построены в пакете SALOME. Расчеты проведены в пакете OpenFOAM. Визуализация расчетов реализована в пакете Paraview. Верификация решателя проведена на тестовой задаче течения Пуазейля. Показано, что с уменьшением пористости и приближением ее к предельному значению проницаемость резко уменьшается. Получено хорошее соответствие между результатами расчетов и аналитической оценкой снизу для проницаемости.

Список литературы:

1. Игошин Д.Е., Никонова О.А., Мостовой П.Я. Моделирование пористой среды регулярными упаковками пересекающихся сфер // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Серия «Физико-математические науки. Информатика». 2014. №. 7. С. 34-42.

2. Ромм Е.С. Структурные модели порового пространства горных пород. Л.: Недра, 1985. 240 с.

3. Лейбензон Л.С. Движение природных жидкостей и газов в пористой среде. М.: Гос. изд-во технико-технической литературы, 1947. С. 11-24.

4. Хейфец Л.И., Неймарк А.В. Многофазные процессы в пористых средах. М.: Химия, 1982. С. 29-33.

5. Швидлер М.И. Статистическая гидродинамика пористых сред. М.: Недра, 1985. 288 с.

6. Darcy, H. Les fontaines publiques de la ville de Dijon: exposition et application des principes à suivre et des formules à employer dans les questions de distribution d’eau... Paris: V. Dalmont, 1856. 647 с.

7. Басниев К.С., Кочина Н.И., Максимов М.В. Подземная гидромеханика: учебник для вузов. М.: Недра, 1993. 416 с.

8. Леонтьев Н.Е. Основы теории фильтрации: учеб. пособие. М.: Изд-во Центра прикладных исследований при механико-математическом факультете МГУ, 2009. 88 с.

9. Bourbie, Т., Coussy, O., Zinszner, B. Acoistique des Milieux Poreux. Chap. 1. Paris: Technip, 1986.

10. Wong, P.Z., Koplik, J., Tomanic, J.P. // Phys. Rev. Ser. B. 1984. Vol. 30. P. 6606. 11. Guoyn, Е., Oger, L., Fiona, T.J. // J. Phys. Ser. D. 1987. Vol. 20. P. 1637.